AutoCAD Electrical General

ccapplen
Message 1 of 4 (476 Views)

Selector Switch Contacts

476 Views, 3 Replies
09-07-2012 06:50 AM

Hello All,

I am very new to AutoCAD Electrical and I'm having trouble adding additional contacts to componts, namely selector switches.  How is that process done?  When I add a selctor switch it only adds a single contact.

AutoCAD Electrical 2013

Windows 7

Thank you in advance.

*Expert Elite*
dougmcalexander
Message 2 of 4 (472 Views)

Re: Selector Switch Contacts

09-07-2012 09:25 AM in reply to: ccapplen

Go back to the Selector Switch category in the menu and click on the 2nd+ contact of your choice, either NO or NC. Insert the contact next to the parent contact that you already inserted.  Click Parent/Sibling to associate this additional contact to the existing contact.  The reason Electrical works this way is so that you are not limited to a certain wire spacing.  You can insert multi-wire components across any group of wires no matter their spacing.  Hint: This same method can be used for pushbuttons, relays, and any other switching device that can have 2 or more contacts.

Doug McAlexander
Independent Consultant/Instructor/Mentor specializing in AutoCAD Electrical, ecscad, and promis-e implementation

Web site: www.ECADConsultant.com
Phone: (770) 841-8009

Please Accept as Solution if I helped you. Kudos are also much appreciated.
Active Contributor
huyvu90
Message 3 of 4 (408 Views)

11-29-2012 07:45 AM in reply to: ccapplen

If a selector switch has 4 contacts, how would you go about distinguishing between the different contacts?

Currently I assign pin # to each contact to distinguish it from other contacts but I'm not sure if it is the right thing to do.  For example, contact #1 would have pin # 1 and 2.  Contact #2 would have pin # 3 and 4.

*Expert Elite*
testsubject
Message 4 of 4 (401 Views)

11-29-2012 11:16 AM in reply to: huyvu90

That is exactly how you would distinguish between different contacts.

Bob Hanrahan