AutoCAD Electrical General

Reply
*Expert Elite*
testsubject
Posts: 1,072
Registered: ‎03-09-2004
Message 1 of 3 (248 Views)

Schematic Sheet numbering

248 Views, 2 Replies
05-24-2012 01:40 PM

I would like to throw this one up for discussion:

 

In my first job, all the schematics where numbered sequentially with wire numbers and terminals numbered via %N.

 

I recently was involved with a project where the schematics were numbered based on groups (000-099, 100-199, etc) and the wires where generated as %S%N and terminals were based on wire numbers or PLC I/O addresses.

Now keep in mind that the schematic sheet numbers jumped around a lot with big gaps between groups. The grouping was created for function grouping; AC power, AC Control, DC Control, Safety Circuits, etc.

 

I have now been tasked with converting a company from JIC/NFPA to IEC Schematics.

 

I would like to maintain the drawing modularity that is provided by using drawing number grouping but I feel like I am stumbling over the terminal numbers. I realize I can create uniqueness by using the location code and each terminal's product code for the terminal number but this does not account for gaps in the numbers caused by grouping that using %S%N does. Using this format though ends up creating very large terminal numbers (100.12) for Sheet 100 terminal 12 which do not fit on the terminal tag.

 

How does the rest of the community's IEC users handle this?

 

Thanks,

 

Bob Hanrahan
Ace User since 1998
*Expert Elite*
Icemanau
Posts: 911
Registered: ‎06-01-2010
Message 2 of 3 (244 Views)

Re: Schematic Sheet numbering

05-24-2012 03:51 PM in reply to: testsubject

The terminal brand we use at our workshop have a terminal group marker carrier as part of their range.

http://catalog.weidmueller.com/procat/Product.jsp;jsessionid=2B84A2FDBE6567CF01DB9DEA8B1FDD85?produc...

 

This takes a label which can define the group and have the terminals just holding the terminal number. Using your example of terminal 100.12, The carrier would have a label reading 100 and the terminal would have a number 12.

 

However, we group terminals by function and not sheet or group. This means in a complete panel we have4 terminals groups. These are incoming CT wiring, incoming VT wiring, Bus wiring (between panels but still inside the board) and finally Customer/multicore wiring which leaves the panel for customer equipment. We can also add extra groups according to customer requirements, like a group for CT ratio selection/testing.

 

Regards Brad

Icemanau (NNTP handle: Brad Coleman)


*Expert Elite*
testsubject
Posts: 1,072
Registered: ‎03-09-2004
Message 3 of 3 (217 Views)

Re: Schematic Sheet numbering

05-29-2012 06:47 AM in reply to: Icemanau

Thanks for the link Brad!

Bob Hanrahan
Ace User since 1998

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Electrical Category!

The AutoCAD Electrical forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Ask the Community