AutoCAD Electrical General

Reply
Contributor
Aaron.Warnke
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎04-30-2009
Message 1 of 5 (324 Views)

Scale Attributes on Panel Drawings

324 Views, 4 Replies
01-25-2010 12:35 PM
Hello,

I've been using layout1 for my panel drawings and have been scaling the view port to fit everything in the drawing. However, when the panel is big, the text is of course small. I've been trying to work with annotative attributes with mixed results. It seems to scale text fine, but when the I have multiple lines of attributes, text tends to overlap. Does anyone have any suggestion on how to do this?

Your suggestions are much appreciated.

Thanks! Edited by: Aaron.Warnke on Jan 25, 2010 8:39 PM
Member
RandyLyne6259
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-31-2010
Message 2 of 5 (293 Views)

Re: Scale Attributes on Panel Drawings

12-31-2010 01:16 PM in reply to: Aaron.Warnke
I am new to AutoCAD Electrical 2011 and i am having the same problem. In one case, i have a cabinet that's is 6ft x 4ft x 24in. I placed everything, except title block, in the model space. Before ACE I would just use annotative text for everything so my diff layouts would be readable. The only way i could think of doing that now would be to edit every library item and set them to annotative but i would still end up with overlapping like Aaron mentioned. Also if i just increase the scale of the text/balloons then they would be the wrong size elsewhere. Does anyone else deal with large enclosures? And how do they manage various layouts/views? Any help would be appreciated.
*Expert Elite*
testsubject
Posts: 1,072
Registered: ‎03-09-2004
Message 3 of 5 (284 Views)

Re: Scale Attributes on Panel Drawings

01-01-2011 04:28 AM in reply to: RandyLyne6259

What I have done in the past is use multiple files to show the various views of the large panel. The primary drawing would give the basic dimensions and all the other drawings would be zoomed-in views of different parts of the cabinet. The primary drawing would hold the actual part with everything dimensioned and then I xref ithis file into all the other files representing different views. To help with clarity, I put the dimensions on different layers and then turn off the ones I do not want to show in the auxilliary files.

Bob Hanrahan
Ace User since 1998
Member
RandyLyne6259
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-31-2010
Message 4 of 5 (270 Views)

Re: Scale Attributes on Panel Drawings

01-01-2011 06:45 PM in reply to: testsubject

That doesnt seem to change the problem. i can just use a different layout (paper space) to zoom in or out. i would like the have the p_tag1 displayed so its readable in the different views. If you have ever used annotative text then it will auto adjust its model size based on the papersize value you set. when your in your layout all you do is set the annotative scale of the page. this way if your zoomed in or to extents, the text on the page is always the same. you can also set different locations for the text based on the scale used.

 

I got an idea to try and insert fields that link to the symbols p_tag1. the fields can be set to annotative. the downside is i would have to create on for every item and it still doesnt solve my problem with the balloons. i guess i could only show the balloons on one layout and hide them on the rest.

*Expert Elite*
testsubject
Posts: 1,072
Registered: ‎03-09-2004
Message 5 of 5 (263 Views)

Re: Scale Attributes on Panel Drawings

01-02-2011 06:21 AM in reply to: RandyLyne6259

I see what you're saying. I just did not try to have the text scale. For example, I would have Drawing B zoomed in to show the upper part of the panel and Drawing C zoomed to show the lower part of the panel.

Bob Hanrahan
Ace User since 1998

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Electrical Category!

The AutoCAD Electrical forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Ask the Community