AutoCAD Electrical General

Reply
Active Member
vacu82
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎11-01-2013
Message 1 of 9 (310 Views)

Save As AutoCad 2007 file - permanently

310 Views, 8 Replies
01-07-2014 02:57 AM

Hello,

 

There's an issue with an ACADE 2013, because of some other software that uses my .dwg files I need to save files in ACAD 2007 format. I've set this in opitions but after opening a few files this setting is being changed to "Autocad 2013" automatically. Is there any way of setting this permanently? 

Active Contributor
priva2
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎02-02-2010
Message 2 of 9 (289 Views)

Re: Save As AutoCad 2007 file - permanently

01-07-2014 12:36 PM in reply to: vacu82

For me in AutoCAD Electircal 2012 if I go under the Tools then Options menu.  In that menu I select the Open and Save tab.  I can specify there what version by default AutoCAD saves in.  See attached picture.

Active Member
vacu82
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎11-01-2013
Message 3 of 9 (286 Views)

Re: Save As AutoCad 2007 file - permanently

01-07-2014 01:08 PM in reply to: priva2
This is correct. But - I don't know how does it look in 2012 but after I change this option and then open 3-4 files, Autocad automatically changes this option back :/
And I've checked few other PCs, the same issue so it's not a problem with my confuguration.
Active Contributor
priva2
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎02-02-2010
Message 4 of 9 (285 Views)

Re: Save As AutoCad 2007 file - permanently

01-07-2014 01:16 PM in reply to: vacu82

If that is happening I cannot comment further as I have had no issues.  This may be becuase for AutoCAD 2012 that 2010 version is trhe newest version.  Hopefully someone else can comment further. 

Active Member
vacu82
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎11-01-2013
Message 5 of 9 (277 Views)

Re: Save As AutoCad 2007 file - permanently

01-07-2014 11:20 PM in reply to: priva2

I've found some semi-solutiuon but it's not good enough: I've created acaddoc.lsp with 

(setenv "DefaultFormatForSave" "36")

 inside. It works but only once, when AutoCad starts. After I open few files the option mentioned above changes to "AutoCad 2013". The reason may be that I use SDI mode, I need it because I open hundereds of files during the day, I need to switch between files very often so without SDI mode I have terrible mess, 30-40 files opened in the same time and after some time I'm not sure what I should save and what I shouldn't. Is there any way for running this kind of script every time file is opened in SDI mode?

New Member
mitchell2031
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-18-2012
Message 6 of 9 (252 Views)

Re: Save As AutoCad 2007 file - permanently

01-09-2014 01:14 PM in reply to: vacu82

Hey,

 

We had the same problem with ACAD 2013 Electrical and eventually we just moved all of our viewers in the shop to 2013 because of it.  We contacted Autodesk and they were aware of it, but never really gave us any support on the issue.  I believe we found that when ACAD does an autosave after a certain amount of time it saves the file in a 2013 format, but it you do an manual save; its in the older desired format.  I know we got frustrated trying to do a work around with it and eventually just solved our issue by upgrading everything else around it to ACAD 2013.  Not sure if 2014 is any different either, but I know we never had that problem with 2011. 

 

good luck,

Scott 

Active Member
vacu82
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎11-01-2013
Message 7 of 9 (241 Views)

Re: Save As AutoCad 2007 file - permanently

01-09-2014 11:43 PM in reply to: mitchell2031

Thanks for the answer.

 

To be honest I've found a solution today :smileyhappy: It's not like I'm so smart :smileywink: I've found it on some board.

 

What I needed to do is just change the name of my file: acaddoc.lsp to acad.lsp and it works!

 

So what you need to do:

 

  1. Create a text file and name it "acad.lsp"
  2. Add a content to the file: (setenv "DefaultFormatForSave" "36")
  3. Save the file and copy to C:\Program Files\Autodesk\Acade 2013\Acade

And that's it! It works even if SDI mode is on :smileyhappy:

 

Attached is my file for those lazy users that prefer to "download and use" :smileywink:

 

 

Mentor
drathak
Posts: 346
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Message 8 of 9 (200 Views)

Re: Save As AutoCad 2007 file - permanently

01-15-2014 07:53 AM in reply to: vacu82

vacu82 wrote:

Thanks for the answer.

 

To be honest I've found a solution today :smileyhappy: It's not like I'm so smart :smileywink: I've found it on some board.

 

What I needed to do is just change the name of my file: acaddoc.lsp to acad.lsp and it works!

 

So what you need to do:

 

  1. Create a text file and name it "acad.lsp"
  2. Add a content to the file: (setenv "DefaultFormatForSave" "36")
  3. Save the file and copy to C:\Program Files\Autodesk\Acade 2013\Acade

And that's it! It works even if SDI mode is on :smileyhappy:

 

Attached is my file for those lazy users that prefer to "download and use" :smileywink:

 

 


Not exactly sound advice if people already have an acad.lsp file, which most do.  Adding that line to the existing acad.lsp would be much better. 

 

Or, even better, create it as it's own file (saveold.lsp) and add that to the startup suite so that it gets loaded with every drawing.

--------------
Joe Weaver
Principal Associate Engineer
Nashville Electric Service
Active Member
vacu82
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎11-01-2013
Message 9 of 9 (195 Views)

Re: Save As AutoCad 2007 file - permanently

01-15-2014 10:18 AM in reply to: drathak

Sorry for that, as I said I'm not an expert, this is what I've found in the internet. I didn't have this file but you're right, someone may have and then it's better to add a line rather than replace the file :smileyhappy:

 

Adding files to startup suite doesn't work when SDI mode is on, at least didn't work for me, I've tried that.


drathak wrote:

vacu82 wrote:

Thanks for the answer.

 

To be honest I've found a solution today :smileyhappy: It's not like I'm so smart :smileywink: I've found it on some board.

 

What I needed to do is just change the name of my file: acaddoc.lsp to acad.lsp and it works!

 

So what you need to do:

 

  1. Create a text file and name it "acad.lsp"
  2. Add a content to the file: (setenv "DefaultFormatForSave" "36")
  3. Save the file and copy to C:\Program Files\Autodesk\Acade 2013\Acade

And that's it! It works even if SDI mode is on :smileyhappy:

 

Attached is my file for those lazy users that prefer to "download and use" :smileywink:

 

 


Not exactly sound advice if people already have an acad.lsp file, which most do.  Adding that line to the existing acad.lsp would be much better. 

 

Or, even better, create it as it's own file (saveold.lsp) and add that to the startup suite so that it gets loaded with every drawing.


 

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Electrical Category!

The AutoCAD Electrical forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Ask the Community