AutoCAD Electrical General

Reply
Contributor
MTSII
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎03-21-2012
Message 1 of 5 (384 Views)

Pin List assignment missing

384 Views, 4 Replies
03-21-2012 04:39 PM

New to AE, used Promise until Bentley took over. I have created several new relays in the CR catalog database and created the associated pin list using the same catalog number in _PINLIST_ catalog.db. When component is selected from the icon menu, the coil and pin list is not automatically alllocated. What am I missing? Help.

*Expert Elite*
dougmcalexander
Posts: 3,028
Registered: ‎10-18-2003
Message 2 of 5 (374 Views)

Re: Pin List assignment missing

03-22-2012 10:20 AM in reply to: MTSII

You must not have used the correct syntax.  Being a promis-e user as well, I can say that the pin list database is a much easier approach than creating device types, but you must use the correct syntax.  Also be sure the catalog number exactly matches the one in the CR table, including spaces or other characters.

Doug McAlexander
Independent Consultant/Instructor/Mentor specializing in AutoCAD Electrical, ecscad, and promis-e implementation

Web site: www.ECADConsultant.com
Phone: (770) 841-8009

Please Accept as Solution if I helped you. Kudos are also much appreciated.
Contributor
MTSII
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎03-21-2012
Message 3 of 5 (357 Views)

Re: Pin List assignment missing

03-23-2012 02:37 PM in reply to: dougmcalexander

Doug,

Thanks for the response, still not having any luck. Attached are some screenshots from my setup for item 782-2C-120A.

Selecting this item attaches the 2 pole base but no pin assignments. Any ideas? or is there a more detailed explanation of procedure for pin lists.

*Expert Elite*
dougmcalexander
Posts: 3,028
Registered: ‎10-18-2003
Message 4 of 5 (351 Views)

Re: Pin List assignment missing

03-23-2012 02:53 PM in reply to: MTSII

I see that you are using an assembly code of 2 POLE BASE.  Did you enter this assembly code into the assembly code field of the pin list database entry for this part?  The Assembly Code is considered part of the unique identifier of a device.  An assembly code might call a base that is pinned out differently from another, so the assembly code entry is as important as manufacturer and catalog number.  The assembly code can be blank, but it most be blank in both the catalog database and the pin list database. 

 

I recommend attending a training class if you are new to Electrical.  I still go to training and I've been around software like this since 1991.  I even went through training for the latest version of promis-e.  Formal training is just as important for getting the most out of AutoCAD Electrical as it is with promis-e.  You will learn about the assembly code and much more.  In my training course we cover tips and tricks that go beyond what the tutorials cover, one such tip involves some advanced use of the assembly code.

Doug McAlexander
Independent Consultant/Instructor/Mentor specializing in AutoCAD Electrical, ecscad, and promis-e implementation

Web site: www.ECADConsultant.com
Phone: (770) 841-8009

Please Accept as Solution if I helped you. Kudos are also much appreciated.
Contributor
MTSII
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎03-21-2012
Message 5 of 5 (348 Views)

Re: Pin List assignment missing

03-23-2012 03:00 PM in reply to: dougmcalexander

Thank you Doug, that was it. Put the assembly code in the pin list and now it populates.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Electrical Category!

The AutoCAD Electrical forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Ask the Community