AutoCAD Electrical General

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
fdna49
Posts: 151
Registered: ‎12-11-2003
Message 1 of 4 (98 Views)

Panel layout - single component shown multiple ways

98 Views, 3 Replies
03-11-2004 08:28 AM
Now that I am using ACADE to do panel layouts I have run into a problem.
I have one contactor that we use several ways.
1. Contactor with overload (overload needs no callout on panel)
2. Contactor without overload
3. Contactor with overload with an interlock to another contactor (to reverse a motor)
This requires 3 different footprints for one contactor.
We show our part number in the bill of materials on the drawing so a different part number for each is not an option.
See the attached drawing for more information.
Anyone have a recommendation on how to handle the situation.


Thanks
Chad
*Expert Elite*
testsubject
Posts: 1,072
Registered: ‎03-09-2004
Message 2 of 4 (98 Views)

Re: Panel layout - single component shown multiple ways

03-11-2004 09:15 AM in reply to: fdna49
This is what I do. In the catalog I make multiple copies of the part with the same part number but different AssyCodes. Then in the footprint library, associate the different footprints to match up with the AssyCode. That way it will insert the correct footprint based on the AssyCode used and the part number stays the same.

Robert Hanrahan
Weigh Right Automatic Scale
Bob Hanrahan
Ace User since 1998
Contributor
Jim Card
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎03-09-2004
Message 3 of 4 (98 Views)

Re: Panel layout - single component shown multiple ways

03-11-2004 09:44 AM in reply to: fdna49
I agree with Robert's reply...
This is the best way to handle multiple configurations of a single part.

Jim Card
Mckee Foods Corp.
Distinguished Contributor
fdna49
Posts: 151
Registered: ‎12-11-2003
Message 4 of 4 (98 Views)

Re: Panel layout - single component shown multiple ways

03-11-2004 01:24 PM in reply to: fdna49
Thanks Jim and Robert
Tried your suggestion, it worked like a charm!!
Now if I could only get the fuses to number as I needed, ( see my other post)I would be all set.

Thanks Again
Chad

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Electrical Category!

The AutoCAD Electrical forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Ask the Community