AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
Justin2012
Posts: 221
Registered: ‎01-25-2012
Message 1 of 24 (868 Views)
Accepted Solution

Panel layout Components

868 Views, 23 Replies
11-08-2012 02:00 PM

How can I add components to the panel layout thats not shown on the schematic like fuse holder etc?

If I use the multiple catalog method and add the fuse holder under the fuse will it link to the panel layout when I build my panel from the schematic? My goal is to have the BOM fo rthe panel layout the same as the schematic.

Also, how do you delete a child components without going through all the schematic?

 

Thanks for any guidance.

*Expert Elite*
Icemanau
Posts: 938
Registered: ‎06-01-2010
Message 2 of 24 (866 Views)

Re: Panel layout Components

11-08-2012 02:12 PM in reply to: Justin2012

I associated the footprint for a fuseholder with the fuses that I use. I select the fuse from the schematic list and the fuse holder pops up to be placed on the layout. To set this, start a panel dwg and select Insert Footprint (schematic list ).

Once you have the schematic list displayed, select one of the fuses you require the holder for. Now click on MANUAL and go to section 'A'. Find and select the appropriate fuse holder from your catalog list and ACADE will add that association to the footprint database.

 

You can also manually lookup footprints and insert them before associating them with the correct schematic component.

 

As for deleting a child component without having to go through ALL the schematics to find it. Use the surf command to bring up a list of the blocks associated with the tag you are after, select the one you want to delte from the list and GOTO that block. now you just exit the sruf command and delete the component or delete the component from within the surf command if you want. 

 

Regards Brad

Icemanau (NNTP handle: Brad Coleman)


Distinguished Contributor
Justin2012
Posts: 221
Registered: ‎01-25-2012
Message 3 of 24 (847 Views)

Re: Panel layout Components

11-09-2012 05:53 AM in reply to: Icemanau

Do I need to add the fuseholder to the fuse in the schematic(assembly or multiple catalog) before proceeding to the panel layout?When you click on manual the parent fuse catalog that's shown on the schematic list is displayed. Do I need to change it and replace with the fuseholder part #? Lets say I want to add not only the fuseholder but more components how is that done? Will this show on the panel BOM?

 

When you click on the surfer command and try to delete the parent item a note comes on saying the child cannot be delete? I want to delete everything thats tied to the parent item.

 

Let me know. Thanks. 

*Expert Elite*
Icemanau
Posts: 938
Registered: ‎06-01-2010
Message 4 of 24 (817 Views)

Re: Panel layout Components

11-11-2012 02:35 PM in reply to: Justin2012

I added the fuseholder to the fuse as a sub component. This way whenever I add a fuse, the correct holder is added at the same time. This fuseholder then shows up in the schematic BOM as well as the Panel BOM.

 

You could add the fuseholder using the Multiple Catalog button, but if you are going to be using a lot of fuses, it's better to add it as a sub component.

 

To add the fuseholder as a sub component you will nned to do the following...

 

1. Insert a fuse.

2. Click on the catalog lookup button.

3. Search for the Fuseholder, when found select the fuseholder and click on EDIT button.

4. Select the Assemblylist check box and in the associated text box add a code.

5. Select the code and Press CTRL-C to copy it to memory.

6. Click OK to exit the edit dialog.

7. Find the fuse you want to use, select it and click the EDIT button.

8. Find and check the Assemblycode box and then in the associated text box press CTRL-V to paste the code.

9. Click OK to exit the edit.

10. Now make sure the fuse is selected, and click on Catalog Check. You should see a listing for the fuse with the fuseholde underneath it.

 

If you have multiple fuses that use the same fuseholder, you can add the same code to their Assemblycode sections and the same fuseholder will be added to those.

 

If you want more than one part attached to a component, seperate the different codes using a semi colon (:smileywink:.

 

Regards Brad

 

Icemanau (NNTP handle: Brad Coleman)


Distinguished Contributor
Justin2012
Posts: 221
Registered: ‎01-25-2012
Message 5 of 24 (790 Views)

Re: Panel layout Components

11-12-2012 07:59 AM in reply to: Justin2012

I think I am getting hold of it now...must the fuseholder be a part (assembly or multiple catalog) of the fuse before I can tie both together? Let say the fuse is a stand alone item in the schematic with no other sub components. Can I still add the fuse holder to it when building the panel layout?

 

Also,when designing a panel layout using "insert footprint(Icon menu)", what TAG info do you put to tie the component to the schematic and also to avoid duplicate tag number? For example, the enclosure which is not in the schematic. How will you handle the tagging and link it to the schematic.

 

Thanks again.

*Expert Elite*
Icemanau
Posts: 938
Registered: ‎06-01-2010
Message 6 of 24 (776 Views)

Re: Panel layout Components

11-12-2012 04:17 PM in reply to: Justin2012

Yes to the first question. You must have the fuseholder tied to the fuse to get the same tag. Whether that is as a subcomponent or as a multiple catalog item doesnt matter.

 

If you are inserting footprints using the Icon menu, the tag section has two buttons in the component edit dialog. One for a schematic list and the second for an external list. Just click on the schematic list and select the appropriate component from the list. ACADE will then associate that footprint with the schematic component you selected.

 

Regards Brad

Icemanau (NNTP handle: Brad Coleman)


Distinguished Contributor
Justin2012
Posts: 221
Registered: ‎01-25-2012
Message 7 of 24 (759 Views)

Re: Panel layout Components

11-13-2012 05:41 AM in reply to: Justin2012

If thats the case, what component do you recommend to associate the enclosure, labels and bolts when using the schematic list under insert footprint(icon menu) ?

 

Thank you.

*Expert Elite*
testsubject
Posts: 1,081
Registered: ‎03-09-2004
Message 8 of 24 (756 Views)

Re: Panel layout Components

11-13-2012 06:06 AM in reply to: Justin2012

I never bothered tieing the hardware back to the schematic since there is not really any connection. These items just get inserted into the panel drawing and I do the BOM for the entire project which then captures these items. What is nice is that you can do individual BOMS for each panel/enclosure and this will give you the items needed for that section and then an overall BOM for the whole project for ordering everything.

Bob Hanrahan
Ace User since 1998
Distinguished Contributor
Justin2012
Posts: 221
Registered: ‎01-25-2012
Message 9 of 24 (752 Views)

Re: Panel layout Components

11-13-2012 08:18 AM in reply to: testsubject

Got you and last question...it seems the schematic report is useless since it doesn't contain all the components(enclosure, nameplate) or when do you use schematic BOM ? So you agree that the panel layout BOM is 100% correct and should be use for purshasing since it has all the components (enclosure, nameplate)? 

 

Thanks for all te help.

*Expert Elite*
testsubject
Posts: 1,081
Registered: ‎03-09-2004
Message 10 of 24 (749 Views)

Re: Panel layout Components

11-13-2012 08:30 AM in reply to: Justin2012

Justin,

 

I would agree that the Pnel BOM is 100% for the panel drawing only.

 

The schematic BOM could include items that are not in the panel (i.e., photo-eyes and cables, motors and cables, etc).

 

I do a BOM of the entire project (schematics and panels/enclosures) when I want to do purchasing. This is 100% of the electrical parts on the machine (this BOM would not include frame parts or anything mechanical unless you create a multi-catalog to include them). There are some items that are duplicated in both the schematic and the panel but they are only counted once for the 100% BOM.

 

I hope that clears it up.

Bob Hanrahan
Ace User since 1998
Announcements
Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Electrical Category!

The AutoCAD Electrical forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.