AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
jlr573
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎03-21-2007
Message 1 of 6 (1,015 Views)

Panel Balloon Sizes

1015 Views, 5 Replies
03-13-2008 05:56 AM
When I'm trying to change the balloon size AutoCAD defaults the values i entered to 1. The numbers I enter are: Text Size (.25) Arrow Size (.25) balloon Diameter (.625). Then I click OK to close the window. I then go back in to the window to see what the values are and AutoCAD has changed them back to ONE. Do I need to change something else elsewhere?
New Member
smsyooper
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-20-2009
Message 2 of 6 (1,014 Views)

Re: Panel Balloon Sizes

04-22-2009 11:22 AM in reply to: jlr573
JLR573,

I'm a new user to AutoCAD Electrical and would like to change my balloon shape and size. Did you ever get a solution to the problem you experienced?

--Thanks
*Expert Elite*
dougmcalexander
Posts: 3,044
Registered: ‎10-18-2003
Message 3 of 6 (1,015 Views)

Re: Panel Balloon Sizes

04-23-2009 08:52 AM in reply to: jlr573
You click the Panel Configuration icon on the Panel Layout toolbar. Next click the Setup button in the balloon category (see attached screen image). You can enter the text size, arrow size, and balloon diameter. You can also select various balloon styles.

I have no problem setting mine to 0.250 text size and arrow size, with a 0.625 balloon diameter. I don't know why it isn't working for the other user who started this thread. I can only speculate that perhaps his drawing somehow contains more than one WD_PNLM block and it is causing confusion. The selections you make are stored as attribute values in a hidden block called the WD_PNLM block, located at coordinates 0,0,0. You can make this block visible by typing ATTMODE at the command line and pressing the enter key. Then type the number 2 and enter. This makes hidden attributes visible. Zoom to the lower left of your drawing and you will see the WD_PNLM block. To return to normal mode, type ATTMODE at the command line, press enter, type 1, and press enter. ATTMODE 1 is normal, ATTMODE 2 reveals hidden attributes. Note: Schematic drawings contain a hidden block as well that stores the schematic drawing configuration settings. This block is called the WD_M block and it also resides at 0,0,0.
Doug McAlexander
Independent Consultant/Instructor/Mentor specializing in AutoCAD Electrical, ecscad, and promis-e implementation

Web site: www.ECADConsultant.com
Phone: (770) 841-8009

Please Accept as Solution if I helped you. Kudos are also much appreciated.
New Member
smsyooper
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-20-2009
Message 4 of 6 (1,014 Views)

Re: Panel Balloon Sizes

04-23-2009 09:45 AM in reply to: jlr573
Thanks for the reply. Turns out I needed to adjust my UNITS from architectural to decimal to prevent whole numbers from being automatically entered into the fields of the Panel Balloon Setup screen.
Contributor
mickey0601
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎01-10-2008
Message 5 of 6 (710 Views)

Re: Panel Balloon Sizes

03-06-2013 06:35 AM in reply to: jlr573

 I spent three hours trying to correct this problem. No matter what I did, the balloons were coming up with everything reverting back to 1. I finally came here and read the comment about changing the "units" from fractional to decimal.

Of course, it fixed my problem. It just seems idiotic that the panel balloons are effected by this setting. Can someone at Autocad pleeeeaaaase fix this sometime in the future.

Employee
murnenp
Posts: 523
Registered: ‎08-01-2007
Message 6 of 6 (703 Views)

Re: Panel Balloon Sizes

03-06-2013 12:13 PM in reply to: mickey0601

I logged this item. Logging it does not guarantee a change by any specific time or release. It means that it will be looked at by the team and considered for a future release.  

 

Sorry for this inconvenience,

Pat



Pat Murnen
Principal Content Developer
Information Modeling and Platform Products Group

Autodesk, Inc.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Electrical Category!

The AutoCAD Electrical forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Ask the Community