AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
fdna49
Posts: 151
Registered: ‎12-11-2003
Message 1 of 7 (108 Views)

Notes in tileblock

108 Views, 6 Replies
03-17-2004 01:15 PM
I have several notes in the notes section of my titleblock that I use 99% of the time. Is there any way to have them in a defaults file, such as is in the component database?
It would be much easier than typing them in every time.

Thanks
Chad
Active Member
BruTec
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-21-2004
Message 2 of 7 (108 Views)

Re: Notes in tileblock

03-17-2004 07:54 PM in reply to: fdna49
There are a couple of solutions to your problem.
- You can make a template of your title block that already has the text in it. You could erase the text when it is not needed.
- you can save the note as a text file and import it using AutoCAD's text editor.
- You could also create a block containing the note text and insert it when needed.
Let me know if this helps, or if you have any other questions.
Distinguished Contributor
fdna49
Posts: 151
Registered: ‎12-11-2003
Message 3 of 7 (108 Views)

Re: Notes in tileblock

03-18-2004 05:49 AM in reply to: fdna49
Thanks, but while the options you suggested will work fine for plain AutoCAD, they wont work for electrical.
In electrical the border is a template that is has attributes that are filled in via a text file.
You cannot delete anything in the border without exploding it which will return all border text to its original attribute values.
The attributes allow to border information to be automatically filled in and updated for all sheet for the job at one time.

Chad
*Nate Holt \(Autodesk\)
Message 4 of 7 (108 Views)

Re: Notes in tileblock

03-18-2004 02:27 PM in reply to: fdna49
"fdna49" wrote in message news:17479675.1079558142523.JavaMail.jive@jiveforum1.autodesk.com... > I have several notes in the notes section of my titleblock that I use 99% of the time. Is there any way to have them in a defaults file, such as is in the component database? > It would be much easier than typing them in every time. > > Thanks > Chad
*Nate Holt \(Autodesk\)
Message 5 of 7 (108 Views)

Re: Notes in tileblock - using ".wdt" fixed text and custom AutoLisp calls

03-18-2004 02:40 PM in reply to: fdna49
Chad, This may or may not relate to your question, please ignore it if it does not... You can set up your default.wdt or .wdt title block mapping file with non-AcadE attributes and fixed values. When you run an AcadE title block update, these fixed values found in the active ".wdt" file will then map to your title block and update the attributes. For example, let's say your title block is set up with four "notes" attributes, NOTE01 through NOTE04. In your default.wdt or .wdt file you might include these four lines: NOTE01 = "Caution: electricity is our friend," NOTE02 = "but we must treat our friend with respect." NOTE03 = "Remove power from all circuitry" NOTE04 = "before attempting control component replacement." When you run the AcadE title block update, these four lines of text should map to your title block. If you need more flexibility than this fixed text method can offer, set up each attribute reference in the ".wdt" file to invoke a small AutoLisp utility. For example, let's say that you have an attribute "LASTWNUM" in your title block that is to carry the last used wire number found on the drawing. You first write a little AutoLisp utility that does this and returns the last wire number value found on the active drawing. Then you set up your ".wdt" file to include a line something like this: LASTWNUM = (c:find_last_used_wirenum) Now, when you run the title block update and AcadE gets to this line in the ".wdt" file, it will try to execute this AutoLisp expression. The expression returns either "" or the last wire number found and this value gets mapped to the LASTWNUM attribute. Nate. "fdna49" wrote in message news:17479675.1079558142523.JavaMail.jive@jiveforum1.autodesk.com... > I have several notes in the notes section of my titleblock that I use 99% of the time. Is there any way to have them in a defaults file, such as is in the component database? > It would be much easier than typing them in every time. > > Thanks > Chad
Distinguished Contributor
fdna49
Posts: 151
Registered: ‎12-11-2003
Message 6 of 7 (108 Views)

Re: Notes in tileblock - using ".wdt" fixed text and custom AutoLisp calls

03-19-2004 07:51 AM in reply to: fdna49
Nate,
Thanks for the help, It is exactly what I needed.
I guess I need to change my title block attributes, since changing the lines in the default.wdt file didn't change the drawings.
The last wire number thing is something I wanted to do since we bought the software 2 years ago. I asked if it could be done and was told it couldn't.
Do you have an LISP you could send me to do that, I know nothing about writing those programs.

Thanks Again
Chad
New Member
Erico Engineering
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-22-2004
Message 7 of 7 (108 Views)

Re: Notes in tileblock - using ".wdt" fixed text and custom AutoLisp calls

05-22-2004 09:22 PM in reply to: fdna49
Nate,
I would like to see that utility also if that not to much trouble.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Electrical Category!

The AutoCAD Electrical forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Ask the Community