AutoCAD Electrical Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s AutoCAD Electrical Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Electrical topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need help creating a brand new database

10 REPLIES 10
SOLVED
Message 1 of 11
designer17
803 Views, 10 Replies

Need help creating a brand new database

Hi,

I am completely new to Autocad Electrical and have been with tasked with creating a brand new primary database for our company.

I've figured out how to add custom tables to the default catalog but thats not what we want. We don't want any of the default catalog enteries associated with the new database. The plan is to figure out how to start with a blank database and add components as we go.

Can someone point me in the right direction?

10 REPLIES 10
Message 2 of 11

It is unwise to create a database from scratch.  Many of the issues I find related to the database are the result of "customization".  I'm having to repair one right now that won't migrate forward for use with release 2015.  The structure and names of the tables have to be strictly maintained.

Doug McAlexander

Design Engineer/Consultant/Instructor/Mentor specializing in AutoCAD Electrical training and implementation support

Phone and Web-based Support Plans Available

Phone: (770) 841-8009

www.linkedin.com/in/doug-mcalexander-1a77623

Please Accept as Solution if I helped you. Likes are also much appreciated.
Message 3 of 11
jalger
in reply to: designer17

Hi designer17,

I agree with Dougs advise not to create a new database. I would make a copy to edit and leave the orginal one alone.

If you want to "start fresh" with an empty database thats ok, but leave all existing tables and columns the way they are.

In other words clear out all the enteries (records) but leave the structure alone. 

Then you can add in new manufacturers, and records as required.