AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
stanatgavan
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎08-08-2008
Message 1 of 10 (302 Views)

Nate/ Doug please help wire label lisp routine

302 Views, 9 Replies
09-08-2009 12:24 PM
Nate, doug,

I am using the lisp routine: How to pull the 10 "user" attributes on a wire number into the From/To report.
It works great but now I would like to use it for the wirelabel report as well when I run the routine it brings me to the wire label list once I select user post I choose the one I wish to use then I get a "nothing defined for user1 option (see wirelabel.lsp)

Attached is my code I am sure I am one line away just need a little help.

Thanks,
Stan at Gavan Edited by: stanatgavan on Sep 8, 2009 4:17 PM
*Expert Elite*
dougmcalexander
Posts: 3,045
Registered: ‎10-18-2003
Message 2 of 10 (302 Views)

Re: Nate/ Doug please help wire label lisp routine

09-08-2009 09:32 PM in reply to: stanatgavan
Stan I will take a look but, since Nate wrote the original lisp and he is the guru of lisp, he may be able to spot the error quicker than me.
Doug McAlexander
Independent Consultant/Instructor/Mentor specializing in AutoCAD Electrical, ecscad, and promis-e implementation

Web site: www.ECADConsultant.com
Phone: (770) 841-8009

Please Accept as Solution if I helped you. Kudos are also much appreciated.
Active Contributor
stanatgavan
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎08-08-2008
Message 3 of 10 (302 Views)

Re: Nate/ Doug please help wire label lisp routine

09-09-2009 06:05 AM in reply to: stanatgavan
Thanks
*Pat Murnen \(Autodesk\)
Message 4 of 10 (302 Views)

Re: Nate/ Doug please help wire label lisp routine

09-09-2009 08:36 AM in reply to: stanatgavan
I think you just had the if section in the wrong place. I moved it up to
take the place of the original if section for option 1. I've attached the
updated file in a zip file. I didn't actually try it so if this wasn't it I
can look further.

Pat Murnen

wrote in message news:6251300@discussion.autodesk.com...
Thanks
Active Contributor
stanatgavan
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎08-08-2008
Message 5 of 10 (302 Views)

Re: Nate/ Doug please help wire label lisp routine

09-09-2009 10:42 AM in reply to: stanatgavan
almost!
now the error reads:2010\support\wirelabel.lsp
Error: bad argument type: consp nil
*Pat Murnen \(Autodesk\)
Message 6 of 10 (302 Views)

Re: Nate/ Doug please help wire label lisp routine

09-09-2009 10:51 AM in reply to: stanatgavan
Each report contains different data and different order to the data. So the
user post code has to account for the order. Did you just copy and paste the
code from the one .lsp and put it in the wirelabel.lsp file? Or did you
adjust for the data order? If you just did a copy and paste then it is
probably the data order. I can take a look at it if that is the case but
most likely it won't be today.

Pat Murnen


wrote in message news:6251581@discussion.autodesk.com...
almost!
now the error reads:2010\support\wirelabel.lsp
Error: bad argument type: consp nil
Active Contributor
stanatgavan
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎08-08-2008
Message 7 of 10 (302 Views)

Re: Nate/ Doug please help wire label lisp routine

09-09-2009 11:16 AM in reply to: stanatgavan
yes I did do a copy and paste then ran it through the lisp editor found a Right ) error and corrected it. Looks like I need to learn Autolisp in more detail.

thanks for your help if you have time I would be most thankful.

Regards,
Stan
*Pat Murnen \(Autodesk\)
Message 8 of 10 (302 Views)

Re: Nate/ Doug please help wire label lisp routine

09-09-2009 11:45 AM in reply to: stanatgavan
Stan, after looking at the data that is in the wire label report I am not
sure it is possible to do what you want. To pull more information out of the
project database about the wire and wire number you need at the very least
the handles and the drawings the entities are on. These 2 pieces of
information make the entity unique. I do not see this information in the
wire label report.

I am not that familiar with this specific report and haven't done any user
posts for it but it doesn't appear the information is there.

Maybe Nate will see something that I missed if/when he looks at thsi post.

Sorry I couldn't be more help,
Pat Murnen

wrote in message news:6251570@discussion.autodesk.com...
yes I did do a copy and paste then ran it through the lisp editor found a
Right ) error and corrected it. Looks like I need to learn Autolisp in more
detail.

thanks for your help if you have time I would be most thankful.

Regards,
Stan
Active Contributor
stanatgavan
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎08-08-2008
Message 9 of 10 (302 Views)

Re: Nate/ Doug please help wire label lisp routine

09-09-2009 12:04 PM in reply to: stanatgavan
Thanks for all your help.

FYI what prompted this is I need the ability to do a wire from to scheme that will allow me to put 2 different wire numbers (3 if I have a junction containing 3 different devices)on the same wire extract that information into a wire label report so that I can get an excel list for export to our Brady wire marker machine without duplicating too many copies of the same number.

And a wire from to report to generate a wire from to list (based on the above) abilities for production maybe if Nate reads this post maybe he will better understand what I am trying to do here.

Thanks again,
Stan At Gavan
*Expert Elite*
dougmcalexander
Posts: 3,045
Registered: ‎10-18-2003
Message 10 of 10 (302 Views)

Re: Nate/ Doug please help wire label lisp routine

09-09-2009 01:51 PM in reply to: stanatgavan
Thanks Pat! I have been at the emergency room all day with my daughter and grandson. All okay now. Thanks for taking this one.
Doug McAlexander
Independent Consultant/Instructor/Mentor specializing in AutoCAD Electrical, ecscad, and promis-e implementation

Web site: www.ECADConsultant.com
Phone: (770) 841-8009

Please Accept as Solution if I helped you. Kudos are also much appreciated.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Electrical Category!

The AutoCAD Electrical forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Ask the Community