AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

Reply
Member
sdomke
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-24-2012
Message 1 of 7 (773 Views)
Accepted Solution

NFPA: Schematic Symbols Insertion Point Problem

773 Views, 6 Replies
11-06-2012 06:10 AM

I am having trouble with the insertion point on some schematic symbols provided with the NFPA library.

 

When inserting the symbol, the insertion point is nowhere near the symbol itself (the insertion point is way to the upper right area of the symbol).

 

I have edited the symbols with Symbol Builder and verified that the components of the symbol are indeed centered around the 0,0 point.

 

The symbols I have discovered that exhibit this behavior are:

Relays – Form C Contact [HCR23]

Heating Elements – Heating Element (alternate) [HRE1HTACT]

 

What technique can I use to correct the insertion point for these symbols?

Active Contributor
opavlica
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎12-16-2003
Message 2 of 7 (769 Views)

Re: NFPA: Schematic Symbols Insertion Point Problem

11-06-2012 07:19 AM in reply to: sdomke

Open the block and type INSBASE to see if it is set at (0,0), it's possible that the symbol is centered around 0,0 but the value is something else...

 

Hope this helps!

Omar

Employee
jared.bunch
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎08-17-2007
Message 3 of 7 (764 Views)

Re: NFPA: Schematic Symbols Insertion Point Problem

11-06-2012 07:49 AM in reply to: sdomke

Hi sdomke

 

I'm sorry you've encountered the error with these symbols.  I'll make sure our QA department is notified of these errors.

 

From your comments it appears as though you've already edited the wblocks in the library and are trying to update the drawings to use the new wblock versions rather than those that are cached in the dwg file.  In this case you can leverage the Swap/Update Block (the update portion) command to update the block reference that is cached in the dwg.  I've tried this and it works, the only thing you'll have to do is move the instances of the blocks that were already placed in the drawing because they will move due to their newly defined insertion point.  In some cases it may be easier to first delete those blocks you have in the drawing (all but one as you'll need one to select to run the swap/update block command) then simply re-insert them was the update is completed.  Note that this will need to be done for any drawing that you've inserted the incorrect instances of those blocks on (the commadn does have a project-wide option too).

 

Hopefully this helps!

 



Jared Bunch
Principal Interaction Designer
IPG - AutoCAD Product Line Group
Autodesk, Inc.

Member
sdomke
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-24-2012
Message 4 of 7 (756 Views)

Re: NFPA: Schematic Symbols Insertion Point Problem

11-06-2012 08:28 AM in reply to: sdomke

Thank you Omar and Jared. I have solved this issue as follows:

 

To correct this issue, edit the symbol with symbol editor.

 

Type INSBASE at the command prompt, you will notice that the current values are:

18.4999, 12.0003, 0 for HCR23

8.5, 12, 0 for HRE1HTALT

 

To correct the incorrect insertion point base (thank you Omar!):

Type “0,0,0” at the prompt

Save the symbol

Execute a block Swap/Update Block

Product Support
mathalekar
Posts: 148
Registered: ‎11-14-2010
Message 5 of 7 (729 Views)

Re: NFPA: Schematic Symbols Insertion Point Problem

11-06-2012 07:16 PM in reply to: sdomke

Hello,


We have taken note of this issue in our system. Thanks for reporting.

Regards,
Mayuresh Athalekar
Autodesk AutoCAD Electrical Team !
Facebook Page : https://www.facebook.com/AutoCADElectrical
Blog Page : http://autodesk.typepad.com/systemsdesign/
YouTube: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL_6ApchKwjN-0Wh8PzIjA_O0P6HRazOwH
AutoCAD Electrical App: https://itunes.apple.com/app/autocad-electrical/id736763190
Mentor
sonny3g
Posts: 166
Registered: ‎05-09-2006
Message 6 of 7 (610 Views)

Re: NFPA: Schematic Symbols Insertion Point Problem

11-19-2012 06:50 AM in reply to: mathalekar

While you are at it, check the rest of your symbols too.  Many of them have this problem or similar problems.  For instance, text style and size is not uniform across related symbols.  A parent contact may have different size text as the child contact does.

Scott G. Sawdy
scott.sawdy@bluecoyotecad.com
Product Support
mathalekar
Posts: 148
Registered: ‎11-14-2010
Message 7 of 7 (605 Views)

Re: NFPA: Schematic Symbols Insertion Point Problem

11-19-2012 07:04 AM in reply to: sdomke

Hello Scott,

 

We have noted this observation already and taking appropriate action for the same.


Thanks for highlighting the same.

Regards,
Mayuresh Athalekar
Autodesk AutoCAD Electrical Team !
Facebook Page : https://www.facebook.com/AutoCADElectrical
Blog Page : http://autodesk.typepad.com/systemsdesign/
YouTube: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL_6ApchKwjN-0Wh8PzIjA_O0P6HRazOwH
AutoCAD Electrical App: https://itunes.apple.com/app/autocad-electrical/id736763190

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Electrical Category!

The AutoCAD Electrical forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Ask the Community