AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
JMARSHALL1249
Posts: 66
Registered: ‎01-27-2011
Message 1 of 3 (570 Views)
Accepted Solution

Migration Utility

570 Views, 2 Replies
09-05-2012 01:53 AM

Can someone help me with the Migration utility.  We have two AE2013 users. I want to update one users menus/catalogue lookup/components etc from those contained on my own PC.  Its migration utility shows no path data or anything, although the PC can browse to my PC over our network.  Is there a simple solution, or am I missing somthing.

Active Contributor
stefan.stamate
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎02-01-2012
Message 2 of 3 (566 Views)

Re: Migration Utility

09-05-2012 03:45 AM in reply to: JMARSHALL1249

The one way will be to modify the wd.env file stored on that computer to point it to the files stored on yours. Even better will be to copy them on a server and make modify the wd.env on all PCs to point them to the new location (network speed might affect performance). The wd.env file in Windows 7 is located here: C:\Users\UserName\Documents\Acade 2013\AeData (if not Windows 7 do a search and you will locate it). Inside this wd.env files are lines for the catalog locations, libraries, menus, etc. For instance your original wd.env file will have this line:

 

WD_LIB,%SL_DIR%/jic125;%SL_DIR%/jic125/1-;%SL_DIR%/pneu_iso125;%SL_DIR%/pid;%SL_DIR%/hyd_iso125, schem, 1-line, and pneumatic/pid/hydraulic default paths 

 

You will need to modify it to the new locations, something like this:

 

WD_LIB,Y:/Path/Libs/jic125;Y:/Path/Libs/McRae;Y:\Path\Libs\Panel_External_Faceplates;Y:/Path/Libs/pneu_iso125;Y:/Path/Libs/pid;Y:/Path/Libs/hyd_iso125schem, 1-line, and pneumatic/pid/hydraulic default paths 

 

If you need to transfer toolbars/ribbon customizations from one computer to another one:

  1. if you are running the same version then you can use the Migration Utility,
  2. if not then you will have to save the CUI from the PC you want to copy from and open it in the Customize User Interface and drag&drop them (see the attached picture for the command and interface).

Good luck!

Valued Contributor
JMARSHALL1249
Posts: 66
Registered: ‎01-27-2011
Message 3 of 3 (563 Views)

Re: Migration Utility

09-05-2012 05:27 AM in reply to: JMARSHALL1249

Thats fantastic. Thank you.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Electrical Category!

The AutoCAD Electrical forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Ask the Community