AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
aikorob
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎01-01-2010
Message 1 of 5 (867 Views)

Maintained PB

867 Views, 4 Replies
12-23-2010 09:20 PM

Maybe I am totally missing it, but is there a maintained pushbutton symbol in the JIC library?

We use a SquareD 9001KR9P35R as a standard Emergency Stop.

This is a 30mm; illuminated;24VDC;with 1 NO and 1 NC contact block

 

Just want to check to see if there is something already there before I draw a block.

*Expert Elite*
dougmcalexander
Posts: 3,057
Registered: ‎10-18-2003
Message 2 of 5 (863 Views)

Re: Maintained PB

12-24-2010 02:57 AM in reply to: aikorob

You can insert a normally-open mushroom-head pushbutton and then insert a normally-closed child (2nd+ NC contact) or vice versa.  Then use the Dashed Link Lines command to connect the two contacts.  (see attached) AcadE offers this dyanamic approach so you are not bound to a specific rung spacing.  You can even scoot one contact and leave the other in place.  The dashed line will adjust.

Doug McAlexander
Independent Consultant/Instructor/Mentor specializing in AutoCAD Electrical, ecscad, and promis-e implementation

Web site: www.ECADConsultant.com
Phone: (770) 841-8009

Please Accept as Solution if I helped you. Kudos are also much appreciated.
Active Contributor
aikorob
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎01-01-2010
Message 3 of 5 (852 Views)

Re: Maintained PB

12-24-2010 07:29 AM in reply to: dougmcalexander

Thanks Doug--thats what I have been doing, I was just hoping for a lazy solution.

I should have gone ahead and made this a block and ran the symbol builder----it would have saved me some time.

*Expert Elite*
dougmcalexander
Posts: 3,057
Registered: ‎10-18-2003
Message 4 of 5 (838 Views)

Re: Maintained PB

12-24-2010 12:34 PM in reply to: aikorob

This was actually one of the features that attracted early customers. You are not bound to a particular rung spacing.  Other programs require that you create a complete symbol for every combination of NO and NC and the number of contacts.  AutoCAD Electrical is all about flexibility.  You can insert any combination of contacts to create the perfect switch or pushbutton, or relay and you can either insert them next to one another or spread the contacts across multiple pages.  The PLCs were developed with the same thought in mind.  You can insert the PLC modules into a ladder with any rung spacing, and you can split the module up.  It's all about flexibility.  It avoids the scenario where you have to bend your wires to match the symbol, as illustrated in the attached screen capture from a competitive program I also use and teach.

 

If you really want to create a symbol that already has the two contacts you want for your scenario you can have your cake and eat it too.  Use the Icon Menu Wizard to create a 2-pole Mushroom-head Pushbutton using the WD_2Unit method.  Create an icon image by drawing the 2-pole symbol on your screen.  I suggest using polylines against a white background.  After you have the icon image drawn, initiate the Icon Menu Wizard and click Add>Command.  Note: You do not click Add>Component, even though you might think that makes sense.  Name the symbol/command Mushroom Head 1NO 1NC.  Select Active and zoom to the icon image you created on screen.  The wizard will capture this image for the icon.  In the Command line enter wd_2unit followed by the two symbol names you wish to insert. I created a sample symbol and inserted it as an example.  (See the attached screen capture)  The command I used to create this symbol was wd_2unit HPB11M HPB22 which inserts the NO Mushroom-head PB first, followed by a NC additional contact; both are then automatically joined with a dashed link line automatically.

Doug McAlexander
Independent Consultant/Instructor/Mentor specializing in AutoCAD Electrical, ecscad, and promis-e implementation

Web site: www.ECADConsultant.com
Phone: (770) 841-8009

Please Accept as Solution if I helped you. Kudos are also much appreciated.
Active Contributor
aikorob
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎01-01-2010
Message 5 of 5 (425 Views)

Re: Maintained PB

10-03-2012 08:01 AM in reply to: aikorob

Thanks for this info Doug--I have been using this method, and recently decided to try a WD3 command----since our

E STOPs are illuminated from the NO contact, I added a RED pilot light as a seperate component.

This is OK.....it gets all 3 parts of the button inserted, but it will only build up or down. It is a trivial matter to simply move the light symbol to the proper place, but would I be better using an illuminated Mushroom PB as a starting point?

 

Thanks again

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Electrical Category!

The AutoCAD Electrical forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Ask the Community