AutoCAD Electrical General

Reply
Active Member
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎01-16-2014
Message 1 of 3 (85 Views)

How to Document Updates to a drawing set

85 Views, 2 Replies
01-16-2014 11:27 AM

Hi, I am new to AutoCAD electrical and was wondering what is the best way to document changes to a current drawing set?  When we want to perform an upgrade to our equipment, we currently use AutoCAD and add clouding to identify the changes on the drawing.  We do this for circuits and bill of materials and panel reqwork.  Does AutoCAD electrical have any built in or add-on tools to help facilitate documenting the changes to a drawing?


Thanks.

Mentor
Posts: 299
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Message 2 of 3 (79 Views)

Re: How to Document Updates to a drawing set

01-16-2014 12:08 PM in reply to: jmterlap

Sadly, no.  At least none that I am aware of.  (Quite willing to have someone prove me wrong on this one.)

 

For us, this is one of the biggest shortcomings of ALL the products we looked at.  We don't even cloud revisions (never did) but would dearly like to get a change order BOM.  By that I mean what was removed, what was added material wise.  The rest I can handle in revision notes.

 

When we were first looking at ACADE, we were told that if we were using Vault, we  could compare the previous project with the revised project and get that COBOM.  Then once we got into it, they (Autodesk) told us that in order to do that we would need PLM360.  And being a public utility, anything cloud based is probably NEVER going to fly around here. :smileysad:

 

This may well be where I end up spending some budgeted consulting dollars.

--------------
Joe Weaver
Principal Associate Engineer
Nashville Electric Service
Active Member
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎01-16-2014
Message 3 of 3 (77 Views)

Re: How to Document Updates to a drawing set

01-16-2014 12:13 PM in reply to: drathak

Thanks for the quick reply. 

During my investigation, I did find that AutoDesk Design Review will do compares between two DWG files, but I haven't yet tried ACADE versions.  Still seems a bit cumbersome to have to put into a Design Review file just to do a compare.  Looks like we'll have to continue to do it manually until we find a better solution.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Electrical Category!

The AutoCAD Electrical forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Ask the Community