AutoCAD Electrical General

Reply
*Expert Elite*
dougmcalexander
Posts: 2,998
Registered: ‎10-18-2003
Message 1 of 8 (443 Views)

Footprint Database Editor takes forever to open AB table

443 Views, 7 Replies
06-07-2012 08:33 AM

Hi Autodesk!  This has been an issue in previous releases and I reported it during the beta testing phase of release 2013.  I received a notification that you verified the issue but I guess it was not corrected.

 

Go to the Footprint Database File Editor and click to Edit Exiting Table.  Select AB.  Go to lunch... Perhaps when you return the table will be open for editing, or perhaps your session of Electrical will have frozen and is no longer responding (see attached screen image).

Doug McAlexander
Independent Consultant/Instructor/Mentor specializing in AutoCAD Electrical, ecscad, and promis-e implementation

Web site: www.ECADConsultant.com
Phone: (770) 841-8009

Please Accept as Solution if I helped you. Kudos are also much appreciated.
Employee
RobinShou-Autodesk
Posts: 206
Registered: ‎06-29-2011
Message 2 of 8 (422 Views)

Re: Footprint Database Editor takes forever to open AB table

06-08-2012 02:55 AM in reply to: dougmcalexander

Hello Doug,        

 

Thanks for raising this issue again, as you mentioned, we already know this issue, and the issue is still in our issue system.

 

Actually, ACE does not hangs up, it is a performance issue for ACE for now, it will take about 2 minutes to open the AB table, as for AB, there are more than  170,000 records, we need long time to load all the records in the table for now.

 

We are still researching about how to improve for this performance issue.        

 

Thanks,     

Robin Shou     

Quality Assurance     

AutoCAD Electrical     

Autodesk, Inc.

Contributor
mewescott
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎02-10-2011
Message 3 of 8 (354 Views)

Re: Footprint Database Editor takes forever to open AB table

08-27-2012 08:57 PM in reply to: RobinShou-Autodesk

Is it also supposed to be that slow when you edit each record.  In between each new entry I add it takes at least a minute to reopen after i hit OK.  I am still using ACE 2012.

Contributor
mewescott
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎02-10-2011
Message 4 of 8 (340 Views)

Re: Footprint Database Editor takes forever to open AB table

08-28-2012 08:07 AM in reply to: dougmcalexander

I would like to make a suggestion.  Break up the AB database into component databases.  For example AB - CB for the circuit breakers or AB-TRMS for terminals.  This would make for a lot faster access time.

it
New Member
it
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-17-2012
Message 5 of 8 (220 Views)

Re: Footprint Database Editor takes forever to open AB table

02-04-2013 08:31 AM in reply to: dougmcalexander

Just started using Autocad Electrical 2013..... this issue really bites.

 

Please don't forget to fix this issue!  :smileyhappy:   Until then, can u provide notes/instructions on how to update the Dataabse (footprint_lookup.mdb) directly via MS Access 2010 (it appears to open up and edit quickly in there)?

 

Thinking too.... can I delete records from there (via MS Access 2010) that I know we won't be using for some time to come?

*Expert Elite*
dougmcalexander
Posts: 2,998
Registered: ‎10-18-2003
Message 6 of 8 (218 Views)

Re: Footprint Database Editor takes forever to open AB table

02-04-2013 08:34 AM in reply to: it

Editing with MS Access directly is the easiest way to do it.  But for customers who don't have Access it must be done via the Footprint Database File Editor.  And for those customers it really needs to be solved.  But I myself prefer editing from Access.

Doug McAlexander
Independent Consultant/Instructor/Mentor specializing in AutoCAD Electrical, ecscad, and promis-e implementation

Web site: www.ECADConsultant.com
Phone: (770) 841-8009

Please Accept as Solution if I helped you. Kudos are also much appreciated.
Distinguished Contributor
iomaxx
Posts: 178
Registered: ‎03-03-2006
Message 7 of 8 (212 Views)

Re: Footprint Database Editor takes forever to open AB table

02-04-2013 09:00 AM in reply to: dougmcalexander

regarding the quesiton about deleting records, it seems previously that deleting unnecessary records thru Access (and doing mass amounts at a time) would help speed up the load time in ACADE, though i haven't much chance as yet to test with 2013 and that being the case...

 

*Expert Elite*
dougmcalexander
Posts: 2,998
Registered: ‎10-18-2003
Message 8 of 8 (209 Views)

Re: Footprint Database Editor takes forever to open AB table

02-04-2013 09:27 AM in reply to: iomaxx

It is always better when you need to delete a large number of records at once to use MS Access.  But this is pertaining to the Footprint Lookup database, which needs to contain all pertinent records.

Doug McAlexander
Independent Consultant/Instructor/Mentor specializing in AutoCAD Electrical, ecscad, and promis-e implementation

Web site: www.ECADConsultant.com
Phone: (770) 841-8009

Please Accept as Solution if I helped you. Kudos are also much appreciated.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Electrical Category!

The AutoCAD Electrical forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Ask the Community