AutoCAD Electrical General

Reply
*Carl Smith
Message 1 of 17 (230 Views)

FUSES

230 Views, 16 Replies
09-01-2004 06:18 AM
Why, by default, can we not put a description on a fuse in the schematic? cds
*Nate Holt \(Autodesk\)
Message 2 of 17 (230 Views)

Re: FUSES

09-01-2004 10:18 AM in reply to: *Carl Smith
If a symbol has no DESC1-3 attributes then the description edit boxes will be dimmed. If you want to put descriptions on fuse symbols, open up the fuse library symbols in AcadE and add in the DESC1, DESC2, and DESC3 attribute definitions. File names are HFU*.dwg and VFU*.dwg in whatever library folder you're using (ex: "c:\program files\autodesk\acade 2005\libs\jic1\"). "Carl Smith" wrote in message news:4135cc21$1_3@newsprd01... > Why, by default, can we not put a description on a fuse in the schematic? > > cds > >
*Carl Smith
Message 3 of 17 (230 Views)

Re: FUSES

09-01-2004 05:22 PM in reply to: *Carl Smith
Yep, but understanding that, I just wonder why they are not there to begin with? cds "Nate Holt (Autodesk)" wrote in message news:41360461$1_2@newsprd01... > If a symbol has no DESC1-3 attributes then the description edit boxes will > be dimmed. If you want to put descriptions on fuse symbols, open up the fuse > library symbols in AcadE and add in the DESC1, DESC2, and DESC3 attribute > definitions. File names are HFU*.dwg and VFU*.dwg in whatever library folder > you're using (ex: "c:\program files\autodesk\acade 2005\libs\jic1\"). > > "Carl Smith" wrote in message > news:4135cc21$1_3@newsprd01... > > Why, by default, can we not put a description on a fuse in the schematic? > > > > cds > > > > > >
*Nate Holt \(Autodesk\)
Message 4 of 17 (230 Views)

Re: FUSES

09-02-2004 06:50 AM in reply to: *Carl Smith
I don't have a good answer why these DESC* attributes aren't there on a fuse symbol. As far as I know, it's never come up before... but there's no reason why this type of symbol couldn't/shouldn't have these attributes...we'll log this issue and see about getting them added in.
Distinguished Contributor
Justin2012
Posts: 221
Registered: ‎01-25-2012
Message 5 of 17 (165 Views)

Re: FUSES

06-18-2012 10:24 AM in reply to: *Nate Holt \(Autodesk\)

I am having the same issue with fuse description dimmed or cannot be access. Is this fixed or how can I fix this?

*Expert Elite*
testsubject
Posts: 1,072
Registered: ‎03-09-2004
Message 6 of 17 (161 Views)

Re: FUSES

06-18-2012 01:18 PM in reply to: Justin2012

Hmmm.

 

Justin, what version of ACE are you using? Some of the earlier versions did not have the description attributes in them but I just checked in 2013 and it was available. Could you be accessing an older library??

Bob Hanrahan
Ace User since 1998
*Expert Elite*
Icemanau
Posts: 911
Registered: ‎06-01-2010
Message 7 of 17 (157 Views)

Re: FUSES

06-18-2012 03:26 PM in reply to: testsubject

The fuses in the 2008 version have the description attributes already. It may only be a specific library that is affected as I use the AS2 library and havn't checked the other libraries.

 

I have had to add the DESC attributes to the blocks for some of the terminals, to get descriptions or comments linked to the terminals.

 

Regards Brad

Icemanau (NNTP handle: Brad Coleman)


Distinguished Contributor
Justin2012
Posts: 221
Registered: ‎01-25-2012
Message 8 of 17 (136 Views)

Re: FUSES

06-20-2012 05:20 AM in reply to: testsubject

Bob,

 

I have a 2011 version and it doesn't have it.

 

Thanks

*Expert Elite*
testsubject
Posts: 1,072
Registered: ‎03-09-2004
Message 9 of 17 (132 Views)

Re: FUSES

06-20-2012 06:08 AM in reply to: Justin2012

Like Brad mentioned, which specific library are you using? (JIC, IEC, etc)

I can check my copy and see if it matches.

Bob Hanrahan
Ace User since 1998
Distinguished Contributor
Justin2012
Posts: 221
Registered: ‎01-25-2012
Message 10 of 17 (129 Views)

Re: FUSES

06-20-2012 06:38 AM in reply to: *Carl Smith

JIC

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Electrical Category!

The AutoCAD Electrical forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Ask the Community