AutoCAD Electrical General

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 308
Registered: ‎10-24-2007
Message 1 of 4 (265 Views)
Accepted Solution

Error: malformed string on input

265 Views, 3 Replies
08-19-2013 08:27 AM

I have been running AutoCAD Electrical 2014 for about a month now and just this morning I recieved this error whenever I start AutoCAD and just after "AutoCAD Electrical menu utlities", which it appears to try to startup twice on intial load - perhaps one is for program and one is for DWG. Also seem to get the same error after the _Ribbon attempts to load; but the ribbons appear to be there and working.

I tired deleting the lastproj.fil. I also tried repairing and reinstalling on seperate instances; but nothing has helped.

I also get the "Error: malformed string on input", whenever I try to open a project; but the project still opens.

 

Anyways, it looks like most of the menus are working; but the Right Click AutoCAD Electrical menus are not showing up. I cannot spend any more time troubleshooting on my own, so I guess I am going to have to hope all the Icons and Commandline functions work as well, which they seem to be - I guess that is fortunate. It seems to just be an error in the "Right Click Electrical menus" and having to start with a clear Project Manager every time. Yet, these are just the noticiable "bugs", I am not sure what is going on that is unnoticiable to me.

I will check back here occasionally to see if there is any other advice. I am running Windows 7 32-bit. 



 

Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 308
Registered: ‎10-24-2007
Message 2 of 4 (262 Views)

Re: Error: malformed string on input

08-19-2013 08:38 AM in reply to: hanchris

I was wrong most Electrical commands are not working. I was fooled because one of the first items I had to do was add a new wire layer and that works just find; but most of the Electrical commands are not working. AutoCAD knows about them, as the icons are there and the command line "suggest" them; but nothing happens when you excute them.

Employee
RobinShou-Autodesk
Posts: 185
Registered: ‎06-29-2011
Message 3 of 4 (235 Views)

Re: Error: malformed string on input

08-20-2013 12:13 AM in reply to: hanchris

Hello,  
 
Seems some problem happen for your ACE2014, please try to uninstall the ACE, delete the remain folders and registry, then do a clean install for the ACE2014 again.
 
Thanks, 
Robin Shou 
Quality Assurance 
AutoCAD Electrical 

Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 308
Registered: ‎10-24-2007
Message 4 of 4 (216 Views)

Re: Error: malformed string on input

08-22-2013 06:42 AM in reply to: hanchris

Alright, thanks to "Command Trace Mode" I determined the issue was definitely with the lastproj.fil, as the fault was always coming up with something relating to the Project Manager and would go away whenever I loaded a single project.

 

As I mentioned before, I was already deleting lastproj.fil from my local hard drive; but apparently AutoCAD at some point attach itself to a server copy. I renamed this and the problem was fixed. I am not looking at that directory in the "Support Files List".

 

My advice for those who encounter this in the future, also check your server, even if AutoCAD is not looking at it in the "Support" list perhaps it picked it up somewhere else.

 

This thread right here was a big help. http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/AutoCAD-Electrical/How-to-fix-ERROR-malformed-list-on-input/td-p/31832... I guess they just knew how to ask better questions.

 

 

 

I do have one more question to any Autodesk employees here, could you find out where that address is set? Currently, my idea is that this is set when our Administrator created the Installation file on the server. Also can it be changed?

 

If I do not get an answer to this question, then alright, at least I know what to look for in the future and I hope this further helps others that encounter this issue in the future. I am sure there will be others. :smileyhappy:

 

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Electrical Category!

The AutoCAD Electrical forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Ask the Community