AutoCAD Electrical General

Reply
Contributor
Matt116
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎06-06-2011
Message 1 of 7 (473 Views)

Electrical symbols text style WD to Standard

473 Views, 6 Replies
09-19-2011 03:23 PM

I'm running Electrcial 2011 and I need to change the text style of the electrical symbols from WD to Standard.  I know how to do it  indavidually once the block is inserted and also through the block editor then doing a ATTSYNC.  My question is, is there any way to globally change the text style of all the symbols/blocks.  Normally I don't mind the WD style but a customer is reqesting it to be in standard.

 

Thanks

Matt

*Expert Elite*
Icemanau
Posts: 911
Registered: ‎06-01-2010
Message 2 of 7 (470 Views)

Re: Electrical symbols text style WD to Standard

09-19-2011 04:17 PM in reply to: Matt116

Yes there is a way to do it.... It will take a fair bit of time to do so though.

 

First of all, make sure you BACKUP your symbol library in case of problems.

 

Next, find out what font the Standard text style uses.

 

You need to either go to the Symbol Library Editor (Not sure where it's located in 2011) or use "wd_sym_lib_resize"

Click on the box to change the WD Style and select the same font as your Standard text style uses.

Now click on OK and ACADE will now go through and OPEN EVERY single block, one by one, and make the requested changes. This will likely take over 8 hrs so is best to run at the end of the work day so it can run overnight.

 

Regards Brad

Icemanau (NNTP handle: Brad Coleman)


Contributor
Matt116
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎06-06-2011
Message 3 of 7 (467 Views)

Re: Electrical symbols text style WD to Standard

09-19-2011 04:28 PM in reply to: Icemanau

Thanks for the quick reply.

I will have to try this tomorrow.

Unfortunately this won't update the drawings I have already done I suppose I will try the -ATTEDIT command or I just tell the customer sorry its WD or nothing either way thanks again for the reply.

 

Matt

*Expert Elite*
Icemanau
Posts: 911
Registered: ‎06-01-2010
Message 4 of 7 (465 Views)

Re: Electrical symbols text style WD to Standard

09-19-2011 05:46 PM in reply to: Matt116

You could always do a project wide block update for each block. Another thing you might like to try is to change the WD text style itself and see if that updates everything that has already been inserted.

 

Just tried it myself and you will have to Right Click on one attribute, change it's text style and then change it back to make all the others update to the new WD style.

 

Regards Brad

Icemanau (NNTP handle: Brad Coleman)


Contributor
Matt116
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎06-06-2011
Message 5 of 7 (461 Views)

Re: Electrical symbols text style WD to Standard

09-19-2011 05:55 PM in reply to: Icemanau

Nice thanks.

So everybody has the potential for their WD style to be different based on what the WD name is pointing at? I guess I didn't realize this I've never really had any reason to mess with text style until now.

 

Thanks

Matt

*Expert Elite*
Icemanau
Posts: 911
Registered: ‎06-01-2010
Message 6 of 7 (459 Views)

Re: Electrical symbols text style WD to Standard

09-19-2011 06:18 PM in reply to: Matt116

You will probably have to get in touch with your client and ask EXACTLY what their settings are for their Standard text style.

Any text style can be modified and there is no guarantee that the text style you use is going to be the same as any one else's text style even if they have the same name.

 

Regards Brad

 

 

Icemanau (NNTP handle: Brad Coleman)


Contributor
Matt116
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎06-06-2011
Message 7 of 7 (456 Views)

Re: Electrical symbols text style WAD to Standard

09-19-2011 06:38 PM in reply to: Icemanau

Yea I guess so but I have a funny feeling they don't know what their standard text is based how the rest of the job is going.

Again thanks for all your help Brad

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Electrical Category!

The AutoCAD Electrical forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Ask the Community