AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
benemt
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎07-14-2011
Message 1 of 12 (377 Views)

Customize User Interface Error

377 Views, 11 Replies
08-03-2011 10:32 AM

Whenver I try to drag any command onto a toolbar or the ribbon, I receive an error that says "Unhandled exception has occured... Unable to cast COM object..." (see screenshot).  This happens with every command: Acad and custom.

 

Any help is appreciated.

 

 

-Acad Electrical 2010, updates installed

Employee
KevinLi-Autodesk
Posts: 425
Registered: ‎04-13-2010
Message 2 of 12 (368 Views)

Re: Customize User Interface Error

08-03-2011 06:59 PM in reply to: benemt

Good catch and thanks for report ! Have logged to our development side for handling.

 

We don't support Drag & Drop for this, you can switch to Transfer tab in CUI dialog box, and create your new cuix file in "Customizations in New File" panel, then drag & drop from main cuix file (left panel) to right panel.

 

 

Regards,

Kevin Li

SQA Engineer, Autodesk, Inc.

Kevin-Hongyuan Li
Quality Assurance Team
Autodesk, Inc.
Contributor
benemt
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎07-14-2011
Message 3 of 12 (359 Views)

Re: Customize User Interface Error

08-04-2011 05:57 AM in reply to: KevinLi-Autodesk

Thanks for the response.  I appreciate it.  I actually have Acad Mechancial 2010 on my computer and am trying to get these to work on Acad Electrical 2010 on a colleague's so I am using both in conjunction to figure this out.



I don't see how the transfer tab is going to help me.  My custom command is in the "Command List" on the "Customize" tab.  How do I get it into the customization file if I cannot drag and drop?  In Mechanical, this method works great to get a command form the "Command List" onto the ribbon or toolbar (see "CUI dragdrop" attachement)I .  Yet in Electrical, I get the "COM Object" error.

 

The other method I tried was a right click near the toolbars and then clicking "Customize."  It brought up a different "Customize User Interface" window in which it tells me to drag the commands(see "CUI dragout" attachment).  I get the same error when I try to do this.

 

Employee
KevinLi-Autodesk
Posts: 425
Registered: ‎04-13-2010
Message 4 of 12 (343 Views)

Re: Customize User Interface Error

08-04-2011 07:59 PM in reply to: benemt

Hmmm. Transfer tab can only drag and drop for the existed commands, and for the new customized created command, drag it from Command List pane to toolbar or Ribbon should work. Hope it can be fixed soon.

 

After you create your command, click Apply and OK in Customize User Interface dialog box, then the new cuix file will be loaded. Can you call your command in the command line directly ?

 

 

Regards,

Kevin Li

Kevin-Hongyuan Li
Quality Assurance Team
Autodesk, Inc.
Contributor
benemt
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎07-14-2011
Message 5 of 12 (337 Views)

Re: Customize User Interface Error

08-05-2011 05:44 AM in reply to: KevinLi-Autodesk

The button I'm trying to add is for a VBA macro and the command the button runs is "^C^C-vbarun EMTDescrip".  I can get this to work from the command line if they type "-vbarun" <enter> "EMTDescrip" but I would prefer they don't need to worry about remembering the names of the macros.

Active Member
wesleylau
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎06-13-2011
Message 6 of 12 (305 Views)

Re: Customize User Interface Error

08-30-2011 07:35 AM in reply to: benemt

Hello, I have this same error when I try to drag a command into the Keyboard shortcuts toolbar. Any help would be appreciated! I have AutoCAD 2008 64 bit.

Employee
KevinLi-Autodesk
Posts: 425
Registered: ‎04-13-2010
Message 7 of 12 (289 Views)

Re: Customize User Interface Error

08-30-2011 07:03 PM in reply to: wesleylau

Hi wesleylau,

 

Thanks for your report !

 

We had logged this issue in our issue tracking system and hopeful it will be resolved as soon as possible. Sorry for the inconveniency.

 

I suppose you want to drag a command into Keyboard Shortcuts toolbar and then directly invoke this command from the toolbar for further operation. If this is case, I think it is blocked now by this problem and I suggest to call it via command line to use it.

 

Regards,

Kevin Li

Kevin-Hongyuan Li
Quality Assurance Team
Autodesk, Inc.
Employee
murnenp
Posts: 523
Registered: ‎08-01-2007
Message 8 of 12 (279 Views)

Re: Customize User Interface Error

08-31-2011 05:10 AM in reply to: KevinLi-Autodesk

For those of you having this issue can you provide more details? What version of AutoCAD Electrical? Can you provide the exact steps or a video showing what you are doing?

 

 



Pat Murnen
Principal Content Developer
Information Modeling and Platform Products Group

Autodesk, Inc.

Active Member
wesleylau
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎06-13-2011
Message 9 of 12 (275 Views)

Re: Customize User Interface Error

08-31-2011 06:49 AM in reply to: murnenp

Hello, I have AutoCAD 2008. Here are the exact steps I followed:

 

1) Type in CUI

2) Drag any command (e.g. Copy) from the Command List

3) As soon you start dragging (i.e. you cannot move it anywhere), I get this error (picture and error message attached).

 

Thanks for looking into this. I found a current workaround, which is to right-click the command, click copy, then go into the appropraite panel (keyboard shortcuts in my case) and click paste.

Employee
murnenp
Posts: 523
Registered: ‎08-01-2007
Message 10 of 12 (273 Views)

Re: Customize User Interface Error

08-31-2011 07:27 AM in reply to: wesleylau

This is AutoCAD or AutoCAD Electrical? I don't have 2008 available and so far haven't run into this issue in the versions I do have. What version of Windows are you on?

 

For anyone with a newer version of AutoCAD Electrical can you supply steps, screen captures, or video? Can you also use the right-click method mentioned?



Pat Murnen
Principal Content Developer
Information Modeling and Platform Products Group

Autodesk, Inc.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Electrical Category!

The AutoCAD Electrical forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Ask the Community