AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
SteveEE
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎11-21-2012
Message 1 of 7 (157 Views)
Accepted Solution

Custom cable marker not cooperating with Terminal Strip Editor

157 Views, 6 Replies
10-14-2013 03:01 PM
I created a custom cable marker based off of the existing default cable marker block. Unfortunately, whenever I use the custom block, the terminal strip editor sees the cable marker as a device instead of a cable. Now all of the terminal blocks generated by the editor are incorrect. Is there any solution to this? I can get by with the default cable marker block but the hassle of going and changing the text attributes to match our standards is a considerable pain. Thanks!
Valued Mentor
drathak
Posts: 400
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Message 2 of 7 (142 Views)

Re: Custom cable marker not cooperating with Terminal Strip Editor

10-15-2013 07:14 AM in reply to: SteveEE

Post a sample of your custom cable marker symbols.  What exactly did you change?  Did you add anything?  Did you follow the block naming conventions for cable markers?

 

 

--------------
Joe Weaver
Principal Associate Engineer
Nashville Electric Service
Contributor
SteveEE
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎11-21-2012
Message 3 of 7 (139 Views)

Re: Custom cable marker not cooperating with Terminal Strip Editor

10-15-2013 07:26 AM in reply to: drathak

All I did in this case was change the text style and size.

Valued Mentor
drathak
Posts: 400
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Message 4 of 7 (134 Views)

Re: Custom cable marker not cooperating with Terminal Strip Editor

10-15-2013 07:29 AM in reply to: SteveEE

Did you give them a different name?

--------------
Joe Weaver
Principal Associate Engineer
Nashville Electric Service
Contributor
SteveEE
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎11-21-2012
Message 5 of 7 (130 Views)

Re: Custom cable marker not cooperating with Terminal Strip Editor

10-15-2013 07:36 AM in reply to: drathak

What do you mean by a different name? The block name is HW_01 or HW_02.

 

When I was using the symbol builder to create the cable marker block there was no "cable" option so I had to choose "generic". The default name given to the block was HDV1_001, which I changed to HW_01 before saving.

Valued Mentor
drathak
Posts: 400
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Message 6 of 7 (127 Views)

Re: Custom cable marker not cooperating with Terminal Strip Editor

10-15-2013 07:46 AM in reply to: SteveEE

I didn't see your attachments the first time.  The underscore is what is causing your problem.  Cable markers should be HW01 & HW02 rather than HW_01 & HW_02.

 

Have a look at this for help on naming conventions. Cable markers happen to be the first thing covered.

 

http://wikihelp.autodesk.com/AutoCAD_Electrical/enu/2012/Help/0266-Symbol_L266/0269-Library_269/0270...

 

--------------
Joe Weaver
Principal Associate Engineer
Nashville Electric Service
Contributor
SteveEE
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎11-21-2012
Message 7 of 7 (125 Views)

Re: Custom cable marker not cooperating with Terminal Strip Editor

10-15-2013 07:47 AM in reply to: drathak

Ah ha!

 

Thanks for the help.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Electrical Category!

The AutoCAD Electrical forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Ask the Community