AutoCAD Electrical Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s AutoCAD Electrical Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Electrical topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Custom Parent and Child Symbols with Split Tags

15 REPLIES 15
SOLVED
Message 1 of 16
hcorry
1270 Views, 15 Replies

Custom Parent and Child Symbols with Split Tags

Hey guys,

I am currently transitioning many of my P&ID Symbols into Autocad Electrical Symbols. Currently I am working on creating a Parent Scada Block with a Child Panel Bubble Block. I have created both with the attributes required.

Whenever I change the parent symbol's tag (its loop number for example), the child symbol's tag (TAG2_PART2 in this case) does not update even though the relationship was already established.

I am new to using split tags with parent/child relationships and if anyone has any guidance it would be greatly appreciated. I have attached both custom blocks below.

Thank you,

Hunter

15 REPLIES 15
Message 2 of 16
jalger
in reply to: hcorry

Hi Hcorry,

It won't work unless you have the proper naming Scheme.

The are required Characters (5-6 characters that are preset)

1 char (Orientation)

H - Horizontal Component

V - Vertical Component

2nd & 3rd Char (Family name)

DV - Device

LT - Light

PB - Push Button

4th Char ( Parent / Child)

1 - Parent

2 - Child

5th Char ( Optional Contact State)

1 - NO

2 - NC

6th + - Unique Identifier

_ACME

_SCADA

In your case you would need.

HDV1_Scada

and

HDV2_Scada (For the Bubble)

That way AutoCAD Electrical understands they are parent and child.

Currently the name on the devices are I_SCADA and I_BUB_Panel they won't work togther.

Quick question for you  are you use the bubble in a Panel Drawing?  or is it just labeled "panel:?

Based on the answer you may need to change how it calls out the "Child" Device.

Regards,

James

James Alger
(I'm on several hundred posts as "algerj")

Work: