AutoCAD Electrical General

Reply
New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-25-2003
Message 1 of 6 (98 Views)

Create new item

98 Views, 5 Replies
11-25-2003 05:53 AM
I need a block to represent a variable frequence drive. Is anything available? How do I go about producing a custom device?
Valued Contributor
Posts: 56
Registered: ‎12-04-2003
Message 2 of 6 (98 Views)

Re: Create new item

11-25-2003 10:57 PM in reply to: elwin
The "Black Box Builder" (Chapter 6 of the
documentation) helps you build components
with the correct attributes. Make sure that
you follow the component naming convention out
line in Chapter 4 (or in Help)
The existing symbols' insertion point is centered
between the two main terminals, doing this
with you components will insure that they
align properly. (Also, take care not to insert
the WD_M block onto your symbols)
*krollenhagen
Message 3 of 6 (98 Views)

Re:

11-25-2003 11:32 PM in reply to: elwin
Why do you have to follow the naming
convention?  I have created many new blocks and have not followed it, and
have not run into any problems yet.

 

Please let me know why I should follow the naming
convention.

 

Keith


style="PADDING-RIGHT: 0px; PADDING-LEFT: 5px; MARGIN-LEFT: 5px; BORDER-LEFT: #000000 2px solid; MARGIN-RIGHT: 0px">
The
"Black Box Builder" (Chapter 6 of the
documentation) helps you build
components
with the correct attributes. Make sure that
you follow the
component naming convention out
line in Chapter 4 (or in Help)
The
existing symbols' insertion point is centered
between the two main
terminals, doing this
with you components will insure that they
align
properly. (Also, take care not to insert
the WD_M block onto your
symbols)
Valued Contributor
Posts: 56
Registered: ‎12-04-2003
Message 4 of 6 (98 Views)

Re:

11-26-2003 02:28 AM in reply to: elwin
I think you may run into problems with some
of the reports if you don't follow the convention. I don't
know what else it affects - I would be interested
in knowing.
Lynne
Valued Contributor
Posts: 56
Registered: ‎12-04-2003
Message 5 of 6 (98 Views)

Re:

11-26-2003 03:27 AM in reply to: elwin
Also, if you want to enter catalog by
component type, you need the family codes
to match the catalog tables,and you may also
have similar problems with panel dwgs.
*Autodesk, Inc\
Message 6 of 6 (98 Views)

Re:

11-30-2003 10:17 PM in reply to: elwin
Not following the symbol naming convention can
create problems with reports, catalog lookup, general component
functionality.


style="PADDING-RIGHT: 0px; PADDING-LEFT: 5px; MARGIN-LEFT: 5px; BORDER-LEFT: #000000 2px solid; MARGIN-RIGHT: 0px">
Also,
if you want to enter catalog by
component type, you need the family codes

to match the catalog tables,and you may also
have similar problems
with panel dwgs.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Electrical Category!

The AutoCAD Electrical forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Ask the Community