AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

Reply
Member
kfs80
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎12-11-2007
Message 1 of 5 (192 Views)

Child Location/Description Update

192 Views, 4 Replies
05-19-2008 01:53 PM
Does anyone know how to change the default settings for "Child Location/Description Update" ? (WD_LOC_CHILD)

I would like the "Manufacturer/Catalog Part Number Values" box to be checked already when I start a project.

We are trying to put MFG and CAT points with our child parts without jumping though a bunch hoops to get to it.

Thanks.
Distinguished Contributor
JeffatICS
Posts: 295
Registered: ‎04-06-2004
Message 2 of 5 (192 Views)

Re: Child Location/Description Update

05-26-2008 05:28 PM in reply to: kfs80
Why would anyone want to do that? mfg and cat attributes on child blocks makes no sense I am surprised that this feature exists. ACE is just going to ignore child blocks in a BOM report.
WOW if you get an answer to this one I would like to know what's the point. I find it bad enough adding part numbers to blocks in a drawing but to add them to the child blocks as well would in my opinion be a waste of time.
*Expert Elite*
rhesusminus
Posts: 904
Registered: ‎09-21-2007
Message 3 of 5 (192 Views)

Re: Child Location/Description Update

05-27-2008 03:37 AM in reply to: kfs80
I guess you would want this in some cases.
You can have "clip-on" contacts for contactors. These are a part of the
parent component and normally use the same tag. But you would ALSO want them
in your BOM. If a child symbol has MFG/CAT attributes with values in it, it
will appear in the BOM report.

THL

"JeffatICS" wrote in message news:5940578@discussion.autodesk.com...
> Why would anyone want to do that? mfg and cat attributes on child blocks
> makes no sense I am surprised that this feature exists. ACE is just going
> to ignore child blocks in a BOM report.
> WOW if you get an answer to this one I would like to know what's the
> point. I find it bad enough adding part numbers to blocks in a drawing but
> to add them to the child blocks as well would in my opinion be a waste of
> time.

THL
Please select "Accept As Solution" if this post answers your question. Kudos don't hurt either. ;-)
*Expert Elite*
dougmcalexander
Posts: 3,082
Registered: ‎10-18-2003
Message 4 of 5 (192 Views)

Re: Child Location/Description Update

05-27-2008 05:56 AM in reply to: kfs80
When you insert the parent coil, click Multiple Catalog and add the aux
contact. It will appear in the BOM as a sub-assembly item that needs to be
added to the parent. With AcadE 2009 you can also assign an item number to
the Multiple Catalog entries. You can enter up to 99 Multiple Catalog
(sub-assembly) parts.

Hint: The Multiple Catalog entries can be pre-loaded into blocks my adding
an attribute called MFG01 for the manufacturer and CAT01 for the catalog
number. You can add MFG01 through MFG99 and CAT01 through CAT99. These are
simply pre-loaded versions of the Multiple Catalog entries. It is wise to
add these to specific footprint symbols since these are more specific than
the contactor coil, but if you always use the same contactor and aux
contact, you could add to the HMS1 and VMS1 blocks as well. But you can
always just click Multiple Catalog and add as needed.

Another way to accomplish this is through the ASSYCODE. Go to the parts
database and add a value of something like NO_AUX to the Assembly List field
of your specific aux contact. You will need to click the checkbox next to
Assembly List to activate this function. Later, when you insert the
contactor coil, just type NO_AUX into the ASSYCODE box. This will add one
NO_AUX contact to the BOM. If you want two auxiliary contacts, type
2,NO_AUX. The same can work for NC_AUX. You can even enter something like
2,NO_AUX;2,NC_AUX into the ASSYCODE field of the Insert Edit Component
dialog to order two of each NO and NC auxiliary contacts.

If you always want one normally-open auxiliary contact, add the NO_AUX to
the Assembly Code field in the catalog record of the parent coil(s) you use.
You will need to check the box next to the Assembly Code field to activate
this function. With this feature engaged, you get the NO_AUX contact
automatically when you perform a Lookup and assign the part number to the
coil that contains an Assembly Code value that matches the Assembly List
value of a particular Auxiliary contact catalog record.

wrote in message news:5940796@discussion.autodesk.com...
I guess you would want this in some cases.
You can have "clip-on" contacts for contactors. These are a part of the
parent component and normally use the same tag. But you would ALSO want them
in your BOM. If a child symbol has MFG/CAT attributes with values in it, it
will appear in the BOM report.

THL

"JeffatICS" wrote in message news:5940578@discussion.autodesk.com...
> Why would anyone want to do that? mfg and cat attributes on child blocks
> makes no sense I am surprised that this feature exists. ACE is just going
> to ignore child blocks in a BOM report.
> WOW if you get an answer to this one I would like to know what's the
> point. I find it bad enough adding part numbers to blocks in a drawing but
> to add them to the child blocks as well would in my opinion be a waste of
> time.
Doug McAlexander
Independent Consultant/Instructor/Mentor specializing in AutoCAD Electrical, ecscad, and promis-e implementation

Web site: www.ECADConsultant.com
Phone: (770) 841-8009

Please Accept as Solution if I helped you. Kudos are also much appreciated.
Valued Contributor
metal_pro2
Posts: 66
Registered: ‎07-04-2007
Message 5 of 5 (102 Views)

Re: Child Location/Description Update

01-09-2013 11:08 AM in reply to: kfs80

Did you ever get a good answer for this. I use the command all the time to update "Panel components" and its very annoying to half to make the extra step to check Rating value and also Manufacturer/ Cat number. it would also be nice if they had a command line version of this command that did not call the dialogue box. I could then use it an script to process just certain drawings.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Electrical Category!

The AutoCAD Electrical forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Ask the Community