AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
dbrblg
Posts: 314
Registered: ‎10-10-2007
Message 1 of 13 (339 Views)

Catalog Filtering Bug?

339 Views, 12 Replies
01-23-2013 08:17 AM

Whenever I place a component (all components are the same) and I come to do a part number lookup, I find there is always some kind of filtering.  

 

There always appears to be some text of filtering in the column textboxes as per the attached.  

 

This is the same for every component....I always find myself having to clear this filtering every single time and to be honest it's starting to really annoy me now.

 

Does anyone have any idea what causes this?

 

Thanks

*Expert Elite*
testsubject
Posts: 1,077
Registered: ‎03-09-2004
Message 2 of 13 (334 Views)

Re: Catalog Filtering Bug?

01-23-2013 09:43 AM in reply to: dbrblg

There is a table in the database called _LISTBOX_DEF. This where the default filtering for each family is stored. You can edit it to have whichever items you want each family to be filtered by.

Bob Hanrahan
Ace User since 1998
Distinguished Contributor
dbrblg
Posts: 314
Registered: ‎10-10-2007
Message 3 of 13 (319 Views)

Re: Catalog Filtering Bug?

01-23-2013 11:40 PM in reply to: dbrblg

Sorry, I forgot to mention in the original post, the _LISTBOX_DEF table is completely empty so I'm guessing the filtering is not from there... :smileyembarrassed:

Distinguished Contributor
dbrblg
Posts: 314
Registered: ‎10-10-2007
Message 4 of 13 (312 Views)

Re: Catalog Filtering Bug?

01-23-2013 11:50 PM in reply to: dbrblg

As an experiment, I thought I'd do the opposite with the _LISTBOX_DEF table in that instead of leaving ot blank, I'd add * into the columns so that all columns are filtered by that wildcard.

 

The attached image shows the results, which are interesting.  Although the _LISTBOX_DEF table says nothing should be filtered, something somewhere is overwriting this in the lookup table!!

 

Anyone know whats causing this?

Mentor
Nata_ly
Posts: 203
Registered: ‎08-21-2012
Message 5 of 13 (311 Views)

Re: Catalog Filtering Bug?

01-23-2013 11:51 PM in reply to: dbrblg

But Bob is absolutely right. Please look closely, it should look like this:

 

 

Mentor
Nata_ly
Posts: 203
Registered: ‎08-21-2012
Message 6 of 13 (305 Views)

Re: Catalog Filtering Bug?

01-23-2013 11:57 PM in reply to: dbrblg

Is this database a default database for this project?

Distinguished Contributor
dbrblg
Posts: 314
Registered: ‎10-10-2007
Message 7 of 13 (292 Views)

Re: Catalog Filtering Bug?

01-24-2013 12:10 AM in reply to: Nata_ly

Ok, I think I see?  It looks as if you cannot filter on certain fields, if you do then you get the results I have. 

 

Now, if I have a * filter on manufacturer only, I get everything!!

 

Thanks for your assistance guys :smileyhappy:

Distinguished Contributor
dbrblg
Posts: 314
Registered: ‎10-10-2007
Message 8 of 13 (285 Views)

Re: Catalog Filtering Bug?

01-24-2013 01:15 AM in reply to: dbrblg

This is a bit frustrating...I thought I had this but I haven't after all :smileyfrustrated:

 

The first thing I did was to pull the default settings for the _LISTBOX_DEF table from the default installation which looked quite similar to the image nata_ly supplied. 

The problem with this is that I don't always want to search for 30.5mm buttons, sometimes I want 22mm.  Ideally I want to be presented with ALL options 30.5mm AND 22mm so I can decide which I want to use.

 

The second problem with filtering in this way is when it comes to two and three pole devices. For example a circuit breaker CB1.  The TABLENAME is CB1 and the TYPE becomes "1-pole*" which filters all the single pole devices.  When it comes to a two or three pole circuit breaker, the entry is still CB1 as it is just a duplicate for the 2nd and 3rd pole of the device.  I therefore cannot set TYPE to "2-pole*" or "3-pole*" respectively.

 

The third issue is when it comes to my power supplies.  In _LISTBOX_DEF, I enter PW but when I do a lookup, the RATING column is filtered however there is no RATING column in the _LISTBOX_DEF table.  I can enter any other column but I am still getting filtering on the RATING column and I don't know where that is coming from - I simply don't want it.

 

 

 

 

Mentor
Nata_ly
Posts: 203
Registered: ‎08-21-2012
Message 9 of 13 (282 Views)

Re: Catalog Filtering Bug?

01-24-2013 01:30 AM in reply to: dbrblg

I can answer  only the first question now. Just leave TYPE field empty and you'll see all types. But AFAIK make it show 30.5mm AND 22mm is imposible. :smileysad:

Mentor
Nata_ly
Posts: 203
Registered: ‎08-21-2012
Message 10 of 13 (268 Views)

Re: Catalog Filtering Bug?

01-24-2013 02:55 AM in reply to: dbrblg

RATING in PW = TYPE in _LISTBOX_DEF.

 

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Electrical Category!

The AutoCAD Electrical forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Ask the Community