AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

Reply
Member
ionescu.bogdan.g
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-21-2011
Message 1 of 5 (558 Views)

Bill of materials - wires/cables in Autocad Electrical

558 Views, 4 Replies
01-23-2012 06:27 AM

Hello,

 

Is there any way to assign lengths to cables and to create an automated BOM which contains all types of wire used ( AWG + color ) and the relative total length?

 

Thanks in advance

*Expert Elite*
dougmcalexander
Posts: 3,037
Registered: ‎10-18-2003
Message 2 of 5 (541 Views)

Re: Bill of materials - wires/cables in Autocad Electrical

01-23-2012 06:06 PM in reply to: ionescu.bogdan.g

There is no inherent functionality to support this.  There is a field named CLEN (short for calculated length) which can be added to your wire from/to list report and the lengths, if known, can be typed into this field using Edit Mode from the report dialog. (see attached screen capture)

 

I wrote an external MS Access database application that allows me to import the from/to list and perform calculations of total amount of wire needed for each wire type.  I also added fields for defining the type of termination device (i.e. ring, spade, ferrule, etc.).

Doug McAlexander
Independent Consultant/Instructor/Mentor specializing in AutoCAD Electrical, ecscad, and promis-e implementation

Web site: www.ECADConsultant.com
Phone: (770) 841-8009

Please Accept as Solution if I helped you. Kudos are also much appreciated.
Member
ionescu.bogdan.g
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-21-2011
Message 3 of 5 (530 Views)

Re: Bill of materials - wires/cables in Autocad Electrical

01-24-2012 12:09 AM in reply to: dougmcalexander

Hello,

 

Thank you for your answer.

 

Not to abuse your patience but can you please also tell me How to change CLEN for a wire in the schematic?

 

I am trying to do right click -> Change/convert wire type. I see Used, wire type, size, layer name, wire numbering and some user fields. How do I get to change CLEN?

 

I am using autocad electrical 2012 and I'm relatively new.

 

So if I understand right I do this : define clen for each wire (or atleast each wire that counts), make a from/to report including clen field. After this can't I just export it to excel and make the calculations in excel ? I just need total amount of cable of each type ( ie 1000m yellow 1.5mm^2 ; 500m blue 6mm^2 ...)

 

Thanks again

Member
ionescu.bogdan.g
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-21-2011
Message 4 of 5 (528 Views)

Re: Bill of materials - wires/cables in Autocad Electrical

01-24-2012 01:40 AM in reply to: ionescu.bogdan.g

Hello,

 

I managed to change the CLEN from the Report Edit, but it gets lost. I create a report, I put in length, save it. When I try to create another report (something changed) I have to fill all CLEN again.

 

Is there any solution to this?

 

Thanks

*Expert Elite*
dougmcalexander
Posts: 3,037
Registered: ‎10-18-2003
Message 5 of 5 (519 Views)

Re: Bill of materials - wires/cables in Autocad Electrical

01-24-2012 06:02 AM in reply to: ionescu.bogdan.g
CLEN is only a field that can be added to a report as a place for you to type in wire length. The data is not stored anywhere other than in the report itself, when you print it or insert as a table on a drawing, or save as a spreadsheet. You can rename CLEN to something like Wire Length after you add it to your report, the same as how you rename any of the other fields in a report.
Doug McAlexander
Independent Consultant/Instructor/Mentor specializing in AutoCAD Electrical, ecscad, and promis-e implementation

Web site: www.ECADConsultant.com
Phone: (770) 841-8009

Please Accept as Solution if I helped you. Kudos are also much appreciated.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Electrical Category!

The AutoCAD Electrical forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Ask the Community