AutoCAD Electrical General

Reply
Active Contributor
stefan.stamate
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎02-01-2012
Message 11 of 27 (726 Views)

Re: Autocad electrical 2013 Fatal Errors

09-11-2012 07:14 AM in reply to: tmbarton

I was told that ACE 2013 has issues on Win 7 64 bit OS and that they "should". Also there seems to be an issue when saving drawings in 2000 format. 

Contributor
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎03-02-2006
Message 12 of 27 (724 Views)

Re: Autocad electrical 2013 Fatal Errors

09-11-2012 07:18 AM in reply to: stefan.stamate

Yes, probably should have mentioned it's Win7 64 bit SP1, fully patched to latest updates from Microsoft.

*Expert Elite*
Posts: 2,806
Registered: ‎10-18-2003
Message 13 of 27 (721 Views)

Re: Autocad electrical 2013 Fatal Errors

09-11-2012 07:22 AM in reply to: stefan.stamate

I'm running AutoCAD Electrical 2013 on Win 7 64-bit SP1 with 8GB of RAM and I have not had a crash.  There must be some specific workflow that produces the crash but I cannot make it happen.  Strange...I believe you but I cannot reproduce the crash.

Doug McAlexander
Independent Consultant/Instructor/Mentor specializing in AutoCAD Electrical, ecscad, and promis-e implementation

Web site: www.ECADConsultant.com
Phone: (770) 841-8009

Please Accept as Solution if I helped you. Kudos are also much appreciated.
Contributor
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎03-02-2006
Message 14 of 27 (718 Views)

Re: Autocad electrical 2013 Fatal Errors

09-11-2012 07:35 AM in reply to: dougmcalexander

Yeah, it must be something specific about certain setups, if it was happening to lots of people on a regular basis there would be a bit more moaning on the groups I guess.  There's not really any workflow involved when I get the most common crash, it's immediately after I open the first drawing of a session, at the point where it's fully drawn on the screen but before I can do anything with it or even move the mouse.  It doesn't happen all the time, and seems to happen mostly after Autocad is first bought up after a long time not being used, either over a machine sleep cycle or if I've been doing something else non-Autocad for a while, but that might just be a red herring.  It has never as far as I'm aware occurred on the second start of Autocad after the first crash, and I have been careful to follow exactly the same procedure for the second restart.  I did wonder if it was a dll error, only happening when a dll had been removed from memory by windows after not being used for a long time perhaps.

 

My next step was going to be to uninstall my 3dconnexion driver and see if that made any difference (don't use the 3dmouse with Electrical).  However probably not, because I installed a driver update the other day and it didn't make any difference, but that's my next step anyway.

 

Trevor

Active Contributor
stefan.stamate
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎02-01-2012
Message 15 of 27 (715 Views)

Re: Autocad electrical 2013 Fatal Errors

09-11-2012 07:39 AM in reply to: tmbarton

One other thing which we noticed is that on the network licence seats it crashes more often than on the local livence ones. The other thing which will make a difference for this: disable the Aero theme in Win 7 (which gives you the nice preview on the taskbar) and also be sure that you have the latest video driver for your card.

*Expert Elite*
Posts: 2,806
Registered: ‎10-18-2003
Message 16 of 27 (713 Views)

Re: Autocad electrical 2013 Fatal Errors

09-11-2012 07:47 AM in reply to: tmbarton

Make sure you have the latest driver for your video card, or, if you have updated the driver recently try rolling it back.  You might also try disabling hardware acceleration.  At the lower right of the AutoCAD Electrical screen is an icon that looks like an IC chip with a light bulb next to it.  Hover over it and see if hardware acceleration is enabled.  Try disabling it if so.  You won't see any appreciable difference in performance.  This is just a hunch but certain video cards/drivers produce unexpected results with certain software.  My old IBM Thinkpad had errors with 32-bit AutoCAD Electrical, any version, if I had hardware acceleration enabled.  It mostly occurred when trying to create a multi-level terminal association with Terminal Strip Editor.  It would produce a "Heidi driver" error.  This is usually caused by trying to use hardware acceleration with a video card/driver that isn't completely compatible with the AutoCAD engine that runs underneath Electrical.

Doug McAlexander
Independent Consultant/Instructor/Mentor specializing in AutoCAD Electrical, ecscad, and promis-e implementation

Web site: www.ECADConsultant.com
Phone: (770) 841-8009

Please Accept as Solution if I helped you. Kudos are also much appreciated.
Contributor
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎03-02-2006
Message 17 of 27 (710 Views)

Re: Autocad electrical 2013 Fatal Errors

09-11-2012 08:10 AM in reply to: dougmcalexander

OK, I've turned off hardware acceleration.  I'll report back if there is any difference, but to have much idea it will take a couple of days because once it's working it's generally fine for the rest of the session or the day.

 

For the record I have an nVidia Quadro 4000M in a Dell Precision M6600.  Rebuilt a couple of months ago with the latest video drivers at the time, don't think I've updated them since.  Didn't use 2013 with the previous build, was still using 2010.

 

Trevor

Contributor
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎03-02-2006
Message 18 of 27 (703 Views)

Re: Autocad electrical 2013 Fatal Errors

09-11-2012 10:24 AM in reply to: tmbarton

Hah, unfortunately no difference (having disabled hardware acelleration), although this time the crash came just after opening a drawing in the usual manner, but it was not the first drawing of a session.  "FATAL ERROR: Unhandled Access Violation reading 0x0001 Exception at fe5812b9h"  Nothing like mixing hex formats in the same error message :smileywink:

*Expert Elite*
Posts: 2,806
Registered: ‎10-18-2003
Message 19 of 27 (701 Views)

Re: Autocad electrical 2013 Fatal Errors

09-11-2012 10:27 AM in reply to: tmbarton

Try opening one of the drawings from the demo project that ships with the software first.  See if you can get a crash with one of those drawings.

Doug McAlexander
Independent Consultant/Instructor/Mentor specializing in AutoCAD Electrical, ecscad, and promis-e implementation

Web site: www.ECADConsultant.com
Phone: (770) 841-8009

Please Accept as Solution if I helped you. Kudos are also much appreciated.
Contributor
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎03-02-2006
Message 20 of 27 (679 Views)

Re: Autocad electrical 2013 Fatal Errors

09-12-2012 01:31 AM in reply to: dougmcalexander

OK, I've tried and opened many of the files from the demo projects and not had a crash.  I have also specially opened them first in each session of using Autocad, and not had a crash yet.  That may or may not be significant, because I've only opened two or three new sessions since I started doing that, and it might be that it wouldn't have crashed anyway.  However I will continue to do that (open a demo first) and see what happens over the next few days.

 

Are you thinking that there might be a problem of some kind with the template I use?  I mentioned earlier that there was a logo missing off one file's border (part of the template) and also someone else mentioned that too.  The template is probably unchanged since it was last modified with ACE 2010 some time ago.  Is it worth doing something with that, even if only re-saving it in 2013 format?

 

Trevor

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Electrical Category!

The AutoCAD Electrical forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Ask the Community