AutoCAD Electrical General

Reply
Member
amason88
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-22-2013
Message 1 of 8 (1,324 Views)

AutoCAD Electrical, Contractor Symbol ?

1324 Views, 7 Replies
02-22-2013 04:01 AM

Hi All,

 

Ive been searching the net for this for hours now and im just wondering if im being stupid in thinking there is a AutoCAD Electrical symbol for a 3 phase contactor or do you have to put 3 seperate contacts in and parent them to a contactor coil?

 

I'm running AutoCAD Electrical 2011.

 

I hope im not being stupid and the anwser is in front of me.

 

If anyone can help ive appreciate it.

 

Thanks

Mentor
Nata_ly
Posts: 203
Registered: ‎08-21-2012
Message 2 of 8 (1,320 Views)

Re: AutoCAD Electrical, Contractor Symbol ?

02-22-2013 04:26 AM in reply to: amason88

Hi!

Is it in a Motor Control menu?

Member
amason88
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-22-2013
Message 3 of 8 (1,316 Views)

Re: AutoCAD Electrical, Contractor Symbol ?

02-22-2013 04:44 AM in reply to: Nata_ly

There's one called motor start 3 pole, but i was always led to believe it was a different symbol than the one shown on that? 

*Expert Elite*
dougmcalexander
Posts: 2,992
Registered: ‎10-18-2003
Message 4 of 8 (1,300 Views)

Re: AutoCAD Electrical, Contractor Symbol ?

02-22-2013 05:26 AM in reply to: amason88
Contactors and motor starters are used interchangeably.
Doug McAlexander
Independent Consultant/Instructor/Mentor specializing in AutoCAD Electrical, ecscad, and promis-e implementation

Web site: www.ECADConsultant.com
Phone: (770) 841-8009

Please Accept as Solution if I helped you. Kudos are also much appreciated.
*Expert Elite*
testsubject
Posts: 1,072
Registered: ‎03-09-2004
Message 5 of 8 (1,298 Views)

Re: AutoCAD Electrical, Contractor Symbol ?

02-22-2013 05:28 AM in reply to: amason88

That is the one to use for a motor contactor (3 Phase Starter Contacts NO). It is built dynamically from 3 NO/ contacts (HMS21) and then joined with a link line.Then you add the Starter coil as a parent and link it to the contacts.

Bob Hanrahan
Ace User since 1998
Member
amason88
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-22-2013
Message 6 of 8 (1,294 Views)

Re: AutoCAD Electrical, Contractor Symbol ?

02-22-2013 05:39 AM in reply to: testsubject

Thanks alot guys, im all sorted now.

 

Cheers :smileyhappy:

Contributor
RePao
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎09-01-2011
Message 7 of 8 (1,261 Views)

Re: AutoCAD Electrical, Contractor Symbol ?

02-24-2013 04:26 AM in reply to: amason88
We are working with AutoCAD ecscad in D-A-CH and there of course exist symbols like MAINCONTAKTS with 3 NO in one Block. I'am not really sure, but I mean that in electrical you can only place 3 single NO to one, (hide DID and so on, will be useful) Regards Ren?

stay tuned &
Greetings from Switzerland
*Expert Elite*
dougmcalexander
Posts: 2,992
Registered: ‎10-18-2003
Message 8 of 8 (1,244 Views)

Re: AutoCAD Electrical, Contractor Symbol ?

02-25-2013 05:20 AM in reply to: RePao

I use ecscad and AutoCAD Electrical.  The difference is that with ecscad, just like all other electrical CAD software, you must create a symbol for 1 contact, 2 contact, 3 contact, etc.  AutoCAD Electrical builds the contacts dynamically by inserting multiple 1 pole contacts and combining them with a dashed link line to indicate they are activated together by the same coil, button, or selector. This method allows the software to insert the symbol across any wire spacing.  If you wish to add a 4th contact, go to the menu for that type of symbol and look for a 2nd+ or 2+ type of symbol.  This is used to add additional contacts to an existing symbol.

Doug McAlexander
Independent Consultant/Instructor/Mentor specializing in AutoCAD Electrical, ecscad, and promis-e implementation

Web site: www.ECADConsultant.com
Phone: (770) 841-8009

Please Accept as Solution if I helped you. Kudos are also much appreciated.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Electrical Category!

The AutoCAD Electrical forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Ask the Community