AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

AutoCAD Electrical General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
ricardo_baez
Posts: 52
Registered: ‎08-19-2009
Message 1 of 5 (572 Views)

AE 2014

572 Views, 4 Replies
04-02-2013 09:41 AM

Hello fellow members,

 

I've just installed AE 2014 and I'm unable to edit parent components in my drawings!!! I also don't get the Insert / Edit Component dialog when inserting parent components!! It seems I'm only able to edit and insert child components!!!

 

I'm interested to know if anybody else suffers from the same problem.

 

Ricardo

 

 

Mentor
vladop
Posts: 223
Registered: ‎02-05-2008
Message 2 of 5 (543 Views)

Re: AE 2014

04-02-2013 11:47 PM in reply to: ricardo_baez

I installed it on XP 32-bit and WIn7 64-bit. It happened on both, but I think that it worked just after installation.

Trusted folder paths could be a problem.

Valued Contributor
ricardo_baez
Posts: 52
Registered: ‎08-19-2009
Message 3 of 5 (528 Views)

Re: AE 2014

04-03-2013 07:13 AM in reply to: ricardo_baez

vladop,

 

You are correct.  I removed the shared network paths to the symbols library and databases and it worked. I then proceeded to add the network paths again and this time they worked! I'm not sure what the hiccup was the first time. I did not do anything different the second time, but I'm glad it's working.

 

Thanks,

 

Ricardo

Mentor
vladop
Posts: 223
Registered: ‎02-05-2008
Message 4 of 5 (449 Views)

Re: AE 2014

04-09-2013 11:05 AM in reply to: ricardo_baez

In my case it was wd.env file that causes the problem.

I copied my old wd.env file, but this part

 

************************************************************************************
* Program executable, dialog, and support files
************************************************************************************
WD,%PF_DIR%/support/,AutoCAD Electrical dialog files, xls templates, and other support files

 

is now changed to

 

************************************************************************************
* Program executable, dialog, and support files
************************************************************************************
WD,%PF_DIR%/support/%WD_LANG%/,AutoCAD Electrical dialog files, xls templates, and other support files

 

This is because language folder (e.g. en-US) is inserted into ACADE paths (alias is %WD_LANG%).

 

Other changes in wd.env are:

 

1) New line:

*WD_CIRCBUILDER_FNAM,"ace_circuit_builder.xls",Circuit Builder spreadsheet file name

 

2) Changed line:

*WD_PICKLIST,%WD_DIR%/catalogs/wd_picklist.mdb,ins component from catalog list file

to

*WD_PICKLIST,%WD_DIR%/%WD_LANG%/catalogs/wd_picklist.mdb,ins component from catalog list file

 

3) Changed line:

WD_CAT,%WD_DIR%/catalogs/,AE catalog file path

to

WD_CAT,%WD_DIR%/%WD_LANG%/catalogs/,AE catalog file path

 

4) New line:
*WD_ZIP,c:/program files/WinRAR/rar.exe, full path/name for alternate zipping utility

 

5) Changed line:

WD_DWF_PC3,DWF Classic (R14 look).pc3,alternate "dwf" plotter config pc3 file reference

to

WD_DWF_PC3,DWF6 ePlot.pc3,alternate "dwf" plotter config pc3 file reference

 

6) New line:

*WD_SET_FILES,x:/some path/,folder for report ".set" files

 

7) New line:

*SETQ:GBL_wd_xref_mtext_pinsize,"0.67",ratio pin/reference text size

 

8) New line:

*SETQ:GBL_wd_default_plot_outputdevice,"Default Windows System Printer.pc3", Default output device

 

Some of these changes might be specific to my wd.env file only.

 

 

 

Mentor
vladop
Posts: 223
Registered: ‎02-05-2008
Message 5 of 5 (384 Views)

Re: AE 2014

04-12-2013 12:07 AM in reply to: ricardo_baez

Two more things that could cause problems if settings files are copied from previous version.

 

1) If old profile file is imported (Options>Profiles>Import) than file paths (Options>Files>Support file search path) with language folder (e.g. en-US) are missing:

C:\program files\autodesk\autocad 2014\acade\en-us\
C:\program files\autodesk\autocad 2014\acade\help\en-us\help\
C:\program files\autodesk\autocad 2014\acade\support\en-us\
C:\documents and settings\all users\documents\autodesk\acade 2014\en-us\support\
C:\Documents and Settings\<User name>\my documents\acade 2014\aedata\en-us\catalogs
C:\Documents and Settings\<User name>\my documents\acade 2014\aedata\en-us\plc

 

2) Project defined paths (Project Properties>Project Settings>Library and Icon Menu Paths) should also be checked.

Announcements
Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Electrical Category!

The AutoCAD Electrical forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.