AutoCAD Electrical General

Reply
Active Contributor
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎04-20-2012
Message 1 of 14 (688 Views)

ACE2012 - Customizing Project Description Labels

688 Views, 13 Replies
05-24-2012 08:57 AM

Obvious beginner....

Despite various sources of instruction, I am unable to create default project description labels.  I can create project description labels when I establish a new project, but I am unable to create a default file that results in Line 1 = Customer, Line 2 = Location, etc.  I have made a text file and saved it as "wdtitle", "wdtitle.wdl", "Default.wdtitle" etc.  My intent is that a title block related dialog box will display "Customer", ...  in stead of "Line 1".  

Suggestions appreciated.

*Expert Elite*
Posts: 1,058
Registered: ‎03-09-2004
Message 2 of 14 (686 Views)

Re: ACE2012 - Customizing Project Description Labels

05-24-2012 12:03 PM in reply to: Outbound

What you want to do is create the default_wdtitle.wdl file.

 

There is a writeup on how to set this file up.

 

http://docs.autodesk.com/ACAD_E/2013/ENU/index.html?url=filesAcadE_UsersGuide/GUID-DC97CB8C-F9C8-467...

Bob Hanrahan
Ace User since 1998
Mentor
johnq
Posts: 219
Registered: ‎05-24-2011
Message 3 of 14 (681 Views)

Re: ACE2012 - Customizing Project Description Labels

05-24-2012 05:14 PM in reply to: testsubject

Hi

 

Bob H's info is correct. May I add my process for ACE2012

 

As a 13 month user self taught I had difficulty with this process until I realised that the name of the text file to be protable is called:   Default_wdtitle.wdl     This was not obvious to me at first.  I was trying to give it a unique name.

 

  

I find that if I create and new directory for the new project,  then I create the project file under that directory.   Next I copy my standard    Default_wdtitle.wdl    file to the new folder.

 

THEN I copy the old project files to the new directory.

 

Hope this

*Expert Elite*
Posts: 1,058
Registered: ‎03-09-2004
Message 4 of 14 (679 Views)

Re: ACE2012 - Customizing Project Description Labels

05-24-2012 06:16 PM in reply to: Outbound

You only have to set up the one default_wdtitle.wdl file if you put it into a folder in the ACAD search path.

Bob Hanrahan
Ace User since 1998
*Expert Elite*
Posts: 2,806
Registered: ‎10-18-2003
Message 5 of 14 (669 Views)

Re: ACE2012 - Customizing Project Description Labels

05-27-2012 06:05 AM in reply to: Outbound

If you work with multiple title blocks that could vary (like an integrator might) I suggest naming the file with the projectname_wdtitle.wdl method and keep it in the project folder.  The important thing is to keep it in the same folder with the projectname.wdp file.  It will copy and rename as needed during a project copy operation.  As Bob suggested, if you always work with one title block, just keep the name as default_wdtitle.wdl and place it in AutoCAD Electrical's search path.  I always put files like that in the User subfolder, which is the default location for "default files" such as the default.wdw (wire color/gauge label) file.  Electrical always checks this folder if it doesn't find a file inside the project folder first.

 

Note: There is a tutorial for setting up a template at www.ecadconsultant.com.  It covers the subject of the _wdtitle.wdl file as well.

Doug McAlexander
Independent Consultant/Instructor/Mentor specializing in AutoCAD Electrical, ecscad, and promis-e implementation

Web site: www.ECADConsultant.com
Phone: (770) 841-8009

Please Accept as Solution if I helped you. Kudos are also much appreciated.
Active Contributor
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎04-20-2012
Message 6 of 14 (642 Views)

Re: ACE2012 - Customizing Project Description Labels

05-30-2012 06:55 AM in reply to: Outbound

Thanks to all for the help.  Unfortunately, I have had no luck.  I assume that I am missing something very basic, as it seems that I have tried every possible version of the directions provided.  I will try following ecadconsultant to the letter, and see what happens.

 

Can you think of anything I may be missing along the way? 

*Expert Elite*
Posts: 2,806
Registered: ‎10-18-2003
Message 7 of 14 (640 Views)

Re: ACE2012 - Customizing Project Description Labels

05-30-2012 07:35 AM in reply to: Outbound

You might want to consider classroom training. I am teaching an open class in Atlanta in July.  I normally teach on site for one company so we can focus on their needs but this is an open class for anyone, space permitting.  This is a 4-day course, not my usual 5-day course, but we will touch on the theory behind the template construction and related supported files needed for the title block update.  My 5-day course includes in-depth administrative-level exercises where we create a template, customize the software, explain the ins and outs of networking and much more.  The class I am teaching in July will be held at Applied Software in Atlanta.  Contact Trevor Fite at (404) 633-8660 for scheduling information if you are interested.  Trevor can let you know about any plans for another 5-day in-depth course.  I have none scheduled with Applied Software at this time, but they have occasionally offered them in the past.

 

Training will pay for itself over and over with increased productivity, as you will be able to tap into more and more of Electrical's capabilities.

Doug McAlexander
Independent Consultant/Instructor/Mentor specializing in AutoCAD Electrical, ecscad, and promis-e implementation

Web site: www.ECADConsultant.com
Phone: (770) 841-8009

Please Accept as Solution if I helped you. Kudos are also much appreciated.
Employee
Posts: 518
Registered: ‎08-01-2007
Message 8 of 14 (626 Views)

Re: ACE2012 - Customizing Project Description Labels

05-31-2012 06:33 AM in reply to: Outbound

To figure out why you are not having any luck I have some questions.

 

Did you try naming the file as suggested, with the project name as the prefix. So for example if the project name is WDDEMO then the file would be called WDDEMO_WDTITLE.WDL?

 

Did you place it in the same folder as the project .WDP file?

 

Can you attach the .WDL file to a post here so I can look at it?

 

To see if it is finding the file do the following -

1. Turn on the AcadE debugger AEONLISPDEBUG

2. Run the Title block update just to bring up the dialog then cancel out.

3. Copy and paste everything on the command line into a posting

 

If AcadE is finding your file then there should be a line that looks something like -

OUT:wd_proj_figure_wdtitle_fnam=C:\Users\murnenp\Documents\AcadE 2013\AeData\proj\Demo\wddemo_wdtitle.wdl

 

Regards,

 



Pat Murnen
Principal Content Developer
Information Modeling and Platform Products Group

Autodesk, Inc.

Active Contributor
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎04-20-2012
Message 9 of 14 (620 Views)

Re: ACE2012 - Customizing Project Description Labels

05-31-2012 07:35 AM in reply to: Outbound

Thanks to everyone...it works!!!

 

I am able to successfully save the file in the project folder.

 

Unfortunately, I am still not able to make the default file work for all projects.

 

Nevertheless, the main problem is solved.  I think I was cutting and pasting the file, and then changing the name. I don't know why that doesn't work the same, but it doesn't.  I learned that the text file MUST be opened and saved with the new name, NOT copied and renamed. 

 

If anyone knows a why the text file would not be working as a default file, let me know.  I have saved it as "default_wdtitle.wdl" at various points within the search path.

 

Thanks for your help!

Employee
Posts: 518
Registered: ‎08-01-2007
Message 10 of 14 (619 Views)

Re: ACE2012 - Customizing Project Description Labels

05-31-2012 08:36 AM in reply to: Outbound

This is from the Help -

 

You can create different WDL files for different projects. The search sequence is as follows:

  1. Look in the same folder as the .WDP file for the project, for a file called <projname>_WDTITLE.WDL where <projname> matches the name of the active project.
  2. Look in the same folder as the .WDP file for the project for a file called DEFAULT_WDTITLE.WDL.
  3. If WD_ACADPATHFIRST flag is present in wd.env file, look for DEFAULT_WDTITLE.WDL in ACAD paths.
  4. Look for DEFAULT_WDTITLE.WDL in the AutoCAD Electrical USER folder.
  5. Look for DEFAULT_WDTITLE.WDL in the base AutoCAD Electrical folder.
  6. If WD_SUP_ALT is defined in the wd.env file, look for DEFAULT_WDTITLE.WDL in the specified path.
  7. Look for DEFAULT_WDTITLE.WDL in ACAD paths (if WD_ACADPATHFIRST flag is not set in the wd.env).

Once it finds one it stops searching. So if you want to use a default one for all projects make sure it doesn't find anything in step 1 or 2.

 

Regards,

 

 



Pat Murnen
Principal Content Developer
Information Modeling and Platform Products Group

Autodesk, Inc.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Electrical Category!

The AutoCAD Electrical forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Ask the Community