AutoCAD Civil 3D - Stormwater

Reply
New Member
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-03-2006
Message 1 of 7 (382 Views)

Import LandXML into Hydraflow Storm Sewer

382 Views, 6 Replies
02-03-2009 01:26 PM
Has anyone come across with a solution to the error attached? It is about a 50-50 chance that an Import LandXML from a Civil 3d 2008 pipe network into the Hydraflow Storm Sewer 2008 extension works. There is nothing particularly special about the pipe networks. Just left them simple, all the same structures and same size pipes when creating the network then exporting the LandXML file out of Civil 3d. Some of the networks will import, some will simply error out. Has anyone else had this happen?
Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 250
Registered: ‎09-21-2006
Message 2 of 7 (382 Views)

Re: Import LandXML into Hydraflow Storm Sewer

02-03-2009 03:49 PM in reply to: 29GM
You need to draw all pipes in the down stream direction for the ENTIRE network and your network must have ONE outfall or it will not import into Hydraflow.

Not optimal but such is life...

mspatz
Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 103
Registered: ‎09-07-2006
Message 3 of 7 (382 Views)

Re: Import LandXML into Hydraflow Storm Sewer

02-04-2009 04:43 AM in reply to: 29GM
Just a note to the last reply....you can do your pipe network in either direction. I always go from the outfall in an upstream direction and have had no problems with XML into Hydrocad
New Member
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-03-2006
Message 4 of 7 (382 Views)

Re: Import LandXML into Hydraflow Storm Sewer

02-04-2009 06:51 AM in reply to: 29GM
You're right. It appears you can put your network together any direction you want, the pipes just have to all go the same direction (one outlet). No toggling the upstream button if you've already drawn everything downstream. Thanks!
Employee
Matt.Anderson
Posts: 2,901
Registered: ‎05-13-2005
Message 5 of 7 (382 Views)

Re: Import LandXML into Hydraflow Storm Sewer

02-04-2009 02:01 PM in reply to: 29GM
The toggle button for upstream to downstream is really in the wrong location because of that fact. It only applies to the next step of drawing your next pipe.



There is a Change Flow Direction command (see the PIpes -> Change Flow Direction) that allows you to apply the change from upstream to downstream after the fact.



Matthew Anderson, PE


Matthew Anderson, PE
Product Manager
ICP
Autodesk, Inc.

Contributor
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎07-27-2012
Message 6 of 7 (219 Views)

Re: Import LandXML into Hydraflow Storm Sewer

07-31-2012 01:08 PM in reply to: Matt.Anderson

Does that really work for this? 

Employee
Matt.Anderson
Posts: 2,901
Registered: ‎05-13-2005
Message 7 of 7 (216 Views)

Re: Import LandXML into Hydraflow Storm Sewer

07-31-2012 01:49 PM in reply to: 29GM
The best method today is to use the Edit in Storm Sewers command. The post you are replying to is from 2009.


Matthew Anderson, PE
Product Manager
ICP
Autodesk, Inc.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the Autodesk Community?
We’re looking at a few different ways to improve the “All Forums” landing page and need your feedback! If interested, please take a few minutes to fill out the following Usability Study. Thank you for your time!

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs