Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Bolted Manhole Rims and Closed Tank

3 REPLIES 3
Message 1 of 4
CPeng78
438 Views, 3 Replies

Bolted Manhole Rims and Closed Tank

Hello Everyone,

I need a little help. I had a chance to use the old StormNet software extensively in my previous company. This is my first time that I'm using it under AutoDesk. It appears to work simlarly. Please correct me otherwise. So now I'm trying to model a small but a bit of a complex system.

I have a modeling scenario where I have a storage tank with two orifices. The first orifice outlets to a 10 inch diameter pipe which eventually outfalls into a stormwater treatment area. This area will allow ponding. Due to site topography a portion of this pipe run will be pressurised with the outlet set just low enough below the 1st orifice elevation at the tank. The second orifice outlets to a 12 inch diameter pipe which connects to the underground storm drain system via gravity. This second pipe run will only take on water that exceeds the capacity of the first. With this scenario I have  a few questions:

1. In trying to model the bolted rims to make the portion of the system to work as a pressurrised system, my understanding is that I have to set the surcharge elevation (at the junction) high enough above the max rim elevation. I have set up the surcharge elevation high enough, trying different elevations and the max water elevation in all cases is exceeding the max rim elevation. What am I missing?

2. My storage tank is a close tank. Is there a way to ensure that is modeled as such or does the program assume is a storage node such as a detention pond?

Thanks in advance for your help!

3 REPLIES 3
Message 2 of 4
fcernst
in reply to: CPeng78