AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Member
danmccrudden123
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎05-06-2012
Message 1 of 10 (1,389 Views)

working with a 2d survey drawing?

1389 Views, 9 Replies
05-06-2012 02:44 AM

Hi

I'm exploring the option of going from normal autocad and PDS (for our road designs) to fully using Civil 3D 2013

 

Generally we only recieve a survey drawing as a 2d cad file with height points represented as 2d text.

In PDS all we need do is 'convert text to point' and create a ground model, this gives us a 3d ground mesh to work with.

 

In Civil 3d i've found 'movetexttoelevation' but now i'm stuck with adding a point at the node of the text object, and then I need to creat a surface model to overlay a 2d siteplan andstart creating our roads.

 

Any pointers in the right direction is much appreciated.

Many Thanks

Distinguished Mentor
andrewpuller3811
Posts: 770
Registered: ‎07-30-2008
Message 2 of 10 (1,386 Views)

Re: working with a 2d survey drawing?

05-06-2012 02:50 AM in reply to: danmccrudden123

Basically you can push text to the elevation it represents then add the text to a surface directly.

 

 

check out this post.

 

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/AutoCAD-Civil-3D/Convert-Mtext-to-civil-3d-point/m-p/2923394/highlight...

If this fixed your issue, click on "Accept as Solution"

Andrew Puller
Maitland, NSW, Australia
Windows 7 Enterprise 64bit
Intel core i7 2600 @ 3.40 GHz with 16GB Ram
Civil 3d 2013 64bit
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,733
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 3 of 10 (1,378 Views)

Re: working with a 2d survey drawing?

05-06-2012 04:29 AM in reply to: danmccrudden123

This method will work with the caveat that the level point will be at the insertion point of the text which may or may not be at the actual level point. This will make the resultant DTM inaccurate although in some circumstances this will be acceptable eg. large open site with little detail whilst in other circumstances e.g. congested site with much detail it may not be.

 

If the text is all consistently offset then it is possible to ofset the text back to the correct location with not toom much hassle but if the text is rotated and at varying offsets then there is more work to do.

 

I use a the following routine which works well (although may need to be run a few times where ambiguous points are found) http://howtoautocad.com/autocad-civil-3d-survey-fix-tool/

 

 

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,877
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 4 of 10 (1,362 Views)

Re: working with a 2d survey drawing?

05-06-2012 08:08 AM in reply to: danmccrudden123

You can use a lisp program to convert the text to acad points or you can use DATAEXTRACTION (my preference)to create a csv file of point.

 

Note: due to upload restrictions, for some reason dxe files are not permitted? Rename the txt file to have a .dxe extension soy you can study it.

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,733
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 5 of 10 (1,354 Views)

Re: working with a 2d survey drawing?

05-06-2012 08:34 AM in reply to: danmccrudden123
.....always remembering the caveat about text insertion point vs actual level point.
neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 2,796
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 6 of 10 (1,352 Views)

Re: working with a 2d survey drawing?

05-06-2012 08:36 AM in reply to: danmccrudden123

C3D can use the text/mtext objects to build the surface without points. After you move the text or mtext to elevation, go to the surface definition. Expand the defintion tree and right click on Drawing Objects. In the drop down list choose Text and select the text/mtext objects.

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 2,796
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 7 of 10 (1,349 Views)

Re: working with a 2d survey drawing?

05-06-2012 08:38 AM in reply to: jmayo

Sorry Andrew. You had this.

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
Contributor
Krite1
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎01-12-2009
Message 8 of 10 (1,342 Views)

Re: working with a 2d survey drawing?

05-06-2012 08:54 AM in reply to: danmccrudden123
This tool will convert level point to elevation of text.

http://howtoautocad.com/autocad-civil-3d-survey-fix-tool

Can be used in autocad as well.
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,733
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 9 of 10 (1,326 Views)

Re: working with a 2d survey drawing?

05-06-2012 11:02 AM in reply to: danmccrudden123
....as previously advised in the second reply to thisthis thread
neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
Member
ricebeans87
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-06-2012
Message 10 of 10 (1,318 Views)

Re: working with a 2d survey drawing?

05-06-2012 12:29 PM in reply to: andrewpuller3811

Thanks for the link! It´s exactly what I was looking for! :smileyvery-happy:

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.