AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
wbrustle
Posts: 158
Registered: ‎11-12-2007
Message 1 of 5 (166 Views)
Accepted Solution

what does re-ording surface operations do?

166 Views, 4 Replies
12-13-2013 10:17 AM

I am curious what benefit re-ordering surface operations is and can someone explain at what point in creating a surface the outer boundary should be selected. Sometimes if I have the boundary already in my surface and I had selected that at the end of building my surface and then continue to edit that surface and realize I need to update that outer boundary....I edit it and it does something wierd to my contours. Should the outer boundary always be at the bottom of the operations list? One more question, what does "point 5313.1211 __ignored duplicate" mean when it comes up in the event viewer? I try to zoom to those specific points within the drawing, but can't figure out what duplicate means in this error message...thanks

*Expert Elite*
sboon
Posts: 2,075
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Message 2 of 5 (157 Views)

Re: what does re-ording surface operations do?

12-13-2013 10:53 AM in reply to: wbrustle

Some operations, like data clip boundaries must be done before other data is added to a surface.  Other surface operations can be added in any order, but this makes the build operation less efficient.  The most efficient order of operations is:

 

  • Data clip boundaries - if applicable.
  • Breakline data
  • Point data
  • Outer boundary
  • Hide or Show boundaries - if applicable

If your surface includes both breaklines and point data then you probably have points on those breakline vertices.  Whichever set of data is added last will create duplicates.  The software is simply advising you that they are being ignored.

 

Steve
Please use the Accept as Solution or Kudo buttons when appropriate

Distinguished Contributor
wbrustle
Posts: 158
Registered: ‎11-12-2007
Message 3 of 5 (143 Views)

Re: what does re-ording surface operations do?

12-13-2013 11:40 AM in reply to: sboon

Thank you for clarifying that for me. What is the difference between a regular boundary (outer and hide) and a data clip boundary?

*Expert Elite*
sboon
Posts: 2,075
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Message 4 of 5 (140 Views)

Re: what does re-ording surface operations do?

12-13-2013 11:48 AM in reply to: wbrustle

One prevents the software from importing data so the surface never uses it, while the other defines where the TIN lines will be cut to eliminate triangles outside of the boundary.  This thread may be useful.

 

 

Distinguished Contributor
wbrustle
Posts: 158
Registered: ‎11-12-2007
Message 5 of 5 (128 Views)

Re: what does re-ording surface operations do?

12-13-2013 12:02 PM in reply to: sboon

thank you very much..... I will check out the thread

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs