AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
lohrmach
Posts: 76
Registered: ‎10-05-2006
Message 1 of 11 (477 Views)
Accepted Solution

ways to make 2D plines take on elevations of points at their vertices?

477 Views, 10 Replies
05-09-2012 08:20 AM

I know there are different ways to do this.  Would like to know multiple options so I can see which might be quickest for me.

 

I have points with elevations and 2D plines at elevation zero drawn between them.

 

I would like 3D plines instead.  This is the easiest way for me to transfer them to another drawing where I will make surfaces with them.  I don't want to have to transfer the points over.

 

I can redraw the plines as 3D plines but this is time consuming and seems unecessary.

 

I don't want to have to convert them to Feature Lines either.  I prefer they be 3D polylines.

 

Is there a simple command for this?  I already have a surface containing the points and lines as surface breaklines.

 

Is there a project objects to surface command that will make these 2D plines at elev 0 into 3D plines while assigning elevations (and vertices) only at the current vertices?

 

What about a simple series of commands to convert the 2D plines to 3D plines, then force the 3D pline to take on the elevations of the points at its vertices?  (I think this would be my preference, but don't know any of these commands or where to find them.)

 

 

Lohrmach
Distinguished Contributor
dibr0804
Posts: 127
Registered: ‎06-29-2010
Message 2 of 11 (476 Views)

Re: ways to make 2D plines take on elevations of points at their vertices?

05-09-2012 08:26 AM in reply to: lohrmach

Convert the 2d plines into feature lines, create a surface from the points, then apply elevations from surface to the feature line.

Distinguished Contributor
dibr0804
Posts: 127
Registered: ‎06-29-2010
Message 3 of 11 (475 Views)

Re: ways to make 2D plines take on elevations of points at their vertices?

05-09-2012 08:26 AM in reply to: dibr0804

The explode the feature line and join it back together

Distinguished Contributor
dibr0804
Posts: 127
Registered: ‎06-29-2010
Message 4 of 11 (474 Views)

Re: ways to make 2D plines take on elevations of points at their vertices?

05-09-2012 08:27 AM in reply to: lohrmach

Also helps to know which version you are on.

*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,778
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 5 of 11 (468 Views)

Re: ways to make 2D plines take on elevations of points at their vertices?

05-09-2012 08:53 AM in reply to: lohrmach

This is funny I found this by accident a second ago. if you use elevation from surface on a 2dpline you get a 3dpline with surface eelvation no FL exloding required. 

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Distinguished Contributor
sadkuh
Posts: 175
Registered: ‎03-04-2008
Message 6 of 11 (466 Views)

Re: ways to make 2D plines take on elevations of points at their vertices?

05-09-2012 08:58 AM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

Joe beat me to it but a bit more detail.....you can have the 2d polyline assume the elevations of a surface and turn it to a 3d polyline. You can have it maintain your verticies or create additional ones. I'm using civil 2011 and I have the command if I go to Civil 3D workspace then the modify ribbon tab and it's under Edit Elevations on the Ribbon. Button is called "Elevations from surface".

*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,787
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 7 of 11 (462 Views)

Re: ways to make 2D plines take on elevations of points at their vertices?

05-09-2012 09:06 AM in reply to: lohrmach

lohrmach wrote:

 

  I already have a surface containing the points and lines as surface breaklines.

  

What about a simple series of commands to convert the 2D plines to 3D plines, then force the 3D pline to take on the elevations of the points at its vertices?   



If you already have the lines as breaklines can't you just copy those lines?

 

I don't think Autodesk or many others would take time to write commands for polylines that already exist for FeatureLines. My suggestion would be to learn to use FeatureLines instead of 3D PLines. FLs are much more versatile.

 

Otherwise use the suggestions to make FeatureLines out of them, assign the elevation based on the Surface then explode the FLs down to lines and rejoin them.

 

If you do a lot of this you might want to explore 3rd party software that might contain these features. Such as ToolPac, Smart Draft or Sincpac.

 

Allen

Valued Contributor
lohrmach
Posts: 76
Registered: ‎10-05-2006
Message 8 of 11 (454 Views)

Re: ways to make 2D plines take on elevations of points at their vertices?

05-09-2012 09:48 AM in reply to: dibr0804

I am working in version 2012

Lohrmach
Valued Contributor
lohrmach
Posts: 76
Registered: ‎10-05-2006
Message 9 of 11 (446 Views)

Re: ways to make 2D plines take on elevations of points at their vertices?

05-09-2012 10:29 AM in reply to: sadkuh

That is the exact command I was looking for and where to find it.  I needed the details.  Thank you.

Lohrmach
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,691
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 10 of 11 (414 Views)

Re: ways to make 2D plines take on elevations of points at their vertices?

05-10-2012 05:16 AM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

Joe-Bouza wrote:

This is funny I found this by accident a second ago. if you use elevation from surface on a 2dpline you get a 3dpline with surface eelvation no FL exloding required. 


I didn't know this was possible....!?!?!?

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs