AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,753
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 1 of 7 (588 Views)

view frame display

588 Views, 6 Replies
01-10-2012 01:35 PM

Its not unusual to show a key plan with view frames. I understand they are hard coded not to display. Anyone have a quick work around?

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Member
oz333mex
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎10-19-2011
Message 2 of 7 (575 Views)

Re: view frame display

01-10-2012 03:25 PM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

If you are referring to turning the frames on/off the command is:

 

"IMAGEFRAME" Set value to 0 for off.

 

"IMAGEFRAME" Set value to 1 for on.

*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,753
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 3 of 7 (572 Views)

Re: view frame display

01-10-2012 03:27 PM in reply to: oz333mex

No. I refer to "View frames" created for plan production sheets. But thanks.

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 4,178
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 4 of 7 (565 Views)

Re: view frame display

01-10-2012 03:47 PM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

These are just placed on a NoPlot layer, change it to a plotting layer?

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,753
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 5 of 7 (557 Views)

Re: view frame display

01-10-2012 05:29 PM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

Dang! we did that and they did'nt show. must be some nesting in the style. Thanks Jeff.

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Employee
hgohel
Posts: 266
Registered: ‎05-17-2006
Message 6 of 7 (540 Views)

Re: view frame display

01-11-2012 09:16 AM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

For the key frame view:

Create a “Key View Frame” VF style (for example with a thick border) and assign it to the view frame that is covered in the current sheet.  You may want to “bring to front” the view frame that is highlighted. If you want to hide the other VFs – either you can create a “No display” or modify the existing VF style and turn off the border display.

You will also have to change the layer setting of the VF (C-ANNO-VFRM by default) to plot because the default for that layer is no-plot.  Doing this has a side-effect that the VF border may be visible in all sheets.  If this is a problem, create a different layer to be used by the Key View Frame.

For this to work, it's you shuld have one sheet per drawing.  If you have multiple layouts per drawing, this technique would not work as the same VF would be highlighted on each sheet which may not be what you want.

Himanshu Gohel
Autodesk, Inc
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,753
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 7 of 7 (528 Views)

Re: view frame display

01-11-2012 03:23 PM in reply to: hgohel

Thanks we will give that a try

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs