AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 147
Registered: ‎11-12-2007
Message 1 of 4 (121 Views)
Accepted Solution

translate survey database rotating issues

121 Views, 3 Replies
01-08-2014 11:22 AM

I am trying to rotate a database through translate survey database and after I input all of my info (rotation basepoint etc.) it is rotating all of the points no where near where they are suppose to be. I was experimenting with the command a bit using various rotation angles, and it seemed to work at first, but I got out of my drawing without saving and got back in and I tried to do it again using the same rotation base point etc. (the correct way that I knew had worked at one point during my experimenting) and the location of the points are all out of whack now. Did I do something unintentionally to the points or do I maybe have to re-import the fieldbook? This has happened to me before and I am not quite sure what's going on......thanks.

I thought not saving the drawing would be a safe way to not save any of my translating....

Distinguished Mentor
Posts: 622
Registered: ‎01-20-2008
Message 2 of 4 (117 Views)

Re: translate survey database rotating issues

01-08-2014 11:36 AM in reply to: wbrustle
Edits to the survey database sometimes are not refelected in the drawing, remove the points in the drawing, reinsert them from the database. and correct the rotation based on the data in the drawing.

Note: Even though you do not save the drawing the changes are made to the database as soon as you click the Finished / OK. The drawing and the database are to seperate things.
C3D12-13
Win7x64 6gb
Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 147
Registered: ‎11-12-2007
Message 3 of 4 (114 Views)

Re: translate survey database rotating issues

01-08-2014 11:44 AM in reply to: rl_jackson

ok I will try that...thanks

Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 147
Registered: ‎11-12-2007
Message 4 of 4 (86 Views)

Re: translate survey database rotating issues

01-09-2014 08:38 AM in reply to: wbrustle

thank you for clarifying this for me. I now understand the database better. I was under the impression that I could do whatever I wanted to the points and as long as I did not save drawing, the point edits would not change.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs