AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
MonkeyTrainer
Posts: 141
Registered: ‎11-30-2007
Message 1 of 13 (392 Views)
Accepted Solution

tool palette dock and closed

392 Views, 12 Replies
10-24-2012 10:07 AM

i am getting a message when i click on something from my tool palette saying that it does not display when it is docked and closed. how do i undo this so i can use objects from the tool palette. how do i "unlock" it? see image.

 

thanks.

*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,843
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 2 of 13 (389 Views)

Re: tool palette dock and closed

10-24-2012 10:13 AM in reply to: MonkeyTrainer

CTRL + F3 should open the toolpallet. Then you can undock it if you want.

 

Allen

Distinguished Contributor
MonkeyTrainer
Posts: 141
Registered: ‎11-30-2007
Message 3 of 13 (386 Views)

Re: tool palette dock and closed

10-24-2012 10:15 AM in reply to: AllenJessup

unLOCK. it doesnt matter if its DOCKED or not

 

thanks.

*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,843
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 4 of 13 (384 Views)

Re: tool palette dock and closed

10-24-2012 10:20 AM in reply to: AllenJessup

Sorry. Should be CTRL + F1 for the Properties Pallet. Or select an entity, rt click and select properties from the menu.

 

Allen

Distinguished Contributor
MonkeyTrainer
Posts: 141
Registered: ‎11-30-2007
Message 5 of 13 (381 Views)

Re: tool palette dock and closed

10-24-2012 10:23 AM in reply to: AllenJessup

ok, maybe im not being clear enough. the objects on my tool palette are locked. thats it.

 

thanks for posting.

*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,843
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 6 of 13 (380 Views)

Re: tool palette dock and closed

10-24-2012 10:24 AM in reply to: MonkeyTrainer

After rereading your post and the attached error. I'm thinking that the something you're click on in the toolpalette is a subassembly or other item that has properties editable in the Properties palette. So you need to open your Properties window.

 

Allen

Distinguished Contributor
MonkeyTrainer
Posts: 141
Registered: ‎11-30-2007
Message 7 of 13 (378 Views)

Re: tool palette dock and closed

10-24-2012 10:26 AM in reply to: AllenJessup

ok, there is nothing editable in the properties box referring to an object being lockable.

*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,843
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 8 of 13 (377 Views)

Re: tool palette dock and closed

10-24-2012 10:26 AM in reply to: MonkeyTrainer

Or I'm being dense today. I don't know how to Lock a toolpalette so I can't say how to Unlock it. At this point my best guess is that you need to open your Properties Palette.

 

Allen

Distinguished Contributor
MonkeyTrainer
Posts: 141
Registered: ‎11-30-2007
Message 9 of 13 (374 Views)

Re: tool palette dock and closed

10-24-2012 10:28 AM in reply to: AllenJessup

do you know how to do that besides CTRL + F1? we changed our script for the f1 key.

*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,843
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 10 of 13 (373 Views)

Re: tool palette dock and closed

10-24-2012 10:28 AM in reply to: MonkeyTrainer

We keep crossing our post. So your latest invalidates my latest. From reading the error message that was the best I could come up with.

 

Allen

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.