AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
ozaukeelandwater
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎01-07-2009
Message 1 of 4 (710 Views)

survey points in the wrong coordinate zone

710 Views, 3 Replies
04-25-2011 02:49 PM

Is there any simple way to get survey points into a different coordinate zone?  I had several topo surveys done with a survey grade trimble.  Now when I bring in the points they DO NOT go with the exisitng NAD 27 WI south orthophotos.

 

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Valued Contributor
MATRIX3DSURVEYS
Posts: 95
Registered: ‎08-18-2005
Message 2 of 4 (701 Views)

Re: survey points in the wrong coordinate zone

04-25-2011 06:05 PM in reply to: ozaukeelandwater

Use Corpscon from Army Corp of Engineers

 

http://crunch.tec.army.mil/software/corpscon/corpscon.html

 

use coordinates in XYZD,csv format.

 

Native format for most GPS data is WGS84 LL or UTM83

 

Jim

*Expert Elite*
Sinc
Posts: 6,207
Registered: ‎11-18-2006
Message 3 of 4 (697 Views)

Re: survey points in the wrong coordinate zone

04-25-2011 06:14 PM in reply to: MATRIX3DSURVEYS

 


MATRIX3DSURVEYS wrote:

 

Native format for most GPS data is WGS84 LL or UTM83

 

Jim


 

To be picky, the native format for GPS is actually an ECEF cartesian coordinate system.  There is processing involved even to get WGS84 or UTM83 Lat/Long.

 

Sinc
*Expert Elite*
Sinc
Posts: 6,207
Registered: ‎11-18-2006
Message 4 of 4 (696 Views)

Re: survey points in the wrong coordinate zone

04-25-2011 06:17 PM in reply to: ozaukeelandwater

Depending on what data you have, you may be able to do the conversion directly in Civil 3D.

 

You must have your target Coordinate System set in your Drawing Settings.  Then create a Point File Format that imports Grid Northing and Grid Easting (instead of Northing and Easting), and set the coordinate system for your source data in the Point File Format.  Then import your points using your new Point File Format, making sure to select the box for "Perform coordinate transformation if possible" in the "Import Points" dialog box.  The points will be transformed from your source coordinate system to your target coordinate system as they are imported.

Sinc

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs