AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
annw2
Posts: 1,263
Registered: ‎03-07-2006
Message 1 of 8 (531 Views)

surface slope labels - dragged state not drag - TC/BC/Reveal

531 Views, 7 Replies
06-02-2012 06:40 PM

I am trying to fix an existing problem by having a variable curb height and want to label top of curb, bottom of curb, and curb reveal. 

 

I copied a surface slope label and started with just the reveal.  I have the text attached to the feature and give it two points to label.  I try to drag the label where it can be read, but instead it drags the end points (data points).

 

How do I get the text only to drag and leave the data points on the curb?

Ann Wingert, P.E.
*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 4,291
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 2 of 8 (527 Views)

Re: surface slope labels - dragged state not drag - TC/BC/Reveal

06-02-2012 07:44 PM in reply to: annw2

Use a spot elevation label. Slope labels cannot be dragged.

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
Distinguished Contributor
annw2
Posts: 1,263
Registered: ‎03-07-2006
Message 3 of 8 (513 Views)

Re: surface slope labels - dragged state not drag - TC/BC/Reveal

06-03-2012 03:50 PM in reply to: Jeff_M
Spot elevations don't lablel the difference. ? Why in the world wouldn't Autodesk allow the slope label not to be dragged? ? I could use that to label TC lines all the time.
Ann Wingert, P.E.
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,873
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 4 of 8 (510 Views)

Re: surface slope labels - dragged state not drag - TC/BC/Reveal

06-03-2012 06:22 PM in reply to: annw2

You could also profile the TC and BC ans show incriments in a data band, but that probably wont do.

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Distinguished Contributor
annw2
Posts: 1,263
Registered: ‎03-07-2006
Message 5 of 8 (488 Views)

Re: surface slope labels - dragged state not drag - TC/BC/Reveal

06-05-2012 05:47 PM in reply to: Joe-Bouza
It would work for some functions, but not my use of labeling TC, BC, and reveal.
Ann Wingert, P.E.
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,873
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 6 of 8 (480 Views)

Re: surface slope labels - dragged state not drag - TC/BC/Reveal

06-05-2012 08:38 PM in reply to: annw2

Maybe.

 

You could draw FL at label locations by snapping to bc tc.  Your FL style would be Dynamic to vertical changes.

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Distinguished Contributor
annw2
Posts: 1,263
Registered: ‎03-07-2006
Message 7 of 8 (469 Views)

Re: surface slope labels - dragged state not drag - TC/BC/Reveal

06-06-2012 12:49 PM in reply to: annw2

I thought of that after the reply that talked about expressions in the labels. 

 

Once I fgure out how to do that, I should be all set.

Ann Wingert, P.E.
New Member
cbrenton
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-23-2013
Message 8 of 8 (262 Views)

Re: surface slope labels - dragged state not drag - TC/BC/Reveal

12-05-2013 11:30 AM in reply to: annw2
What makes me laugh is there is settings for drag state in slope labels settings. I agree that this needs to be added to the software. We'd like to use this at my company to compare top of wall & bottom of wall elevations in one label. The slope label allows users to write expressions to Point 1 elevation & Point 2 elevations. So we could like one label that would show, TW=__,TRW=___,BW=___, TF=____ in a dragged state leader.
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.