AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
Mentor
bcsurvey
Posts: 265
Registered: ‎04-29-2008
Message 1 of 7 (409 Views)
Accepted Solution

removing leaders from individual dragged point elevations

409 Views, 6 Replies
08-09-2010 09:32 AM

I'd like to turn off the leader for individual points that have had a component dragged.  For most points, I need the leader, but for others, it's just in the way.  I'm beginning to think that I have to make a whole new label style in which the leader for dragged components is made invisible.  I've already had to do that for other tweaks and hope that this won't be yet another one . . . 

Civil 3D 2014
Windows 7 Professional SP1
Dell Precision T1700
(i7 @ 3.40 GHz)
8GB RAM
Nvidia Quadro K600
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,500
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 2 of 7 (405 Views)

Re: removing leaders from individual dragged point elevations

08-09-2010 09:41 AM in reply to: bcsurvey

sound like your only option.

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Mentor
bcsurvey
Posts: 265
Registered: ‎04-29-2008
Message 3 of 7 (400 Views)

Re: removing leaders from individual dragged point elevations

08-09-2010 10:05 AM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

found it

- from default label position, left click label

- click blue circle (sub-item grip toggle) diagonal from point

- drag component(s) as desired

 

"thanks"

 

Civil 3D 2014
Windows 7 Professional SP1
Dell Precision T1700
(i7 @ 3.40 GHz)
8GB RAM
Nvidia Quadro K600
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,500
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 4 of 7 (389 Views)

Re: removing leaders from individual dragged point elevations

08-09-2010 10:58 AM in reply to: bcsurvey

Excellent!

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
*Expert Elite*
rkmcswain
Posts: 2,599
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 5 of 7 (110 Views)

Re: removing leaders from individual dragged point elevations

10-24-2012 11:14 AM in reply to: bcsurvey

If you only have one text component as part of your label style, then there is no way to access the "sub item grips".

See this for more info: http://cadpanacea.com/node/382

 

*Expert Elite*
Neilw
Posts: 2,114
Registered: ‎09-04-2006
Message 6 of 7 (106 Views)

Re: removing leaders from individual dragged point elevations

10-24-2012 11:43 AM in reply to: rkmcswain

Nice workaround Randal.

Neil Wilson (a.k.a. neilw)
Infrastructure Suite/C3D 2013, LDT 2004, Power Civil v8i SS1
WIN 7 64 PRO
HP Pavillion h8xt, i7 2600, 12 GB
RADEON 6450, 1 GB
http://www.sec-landmgt.com
Mentor
bcsurvey
Posts: 265
Registered: ‎04-29-2008
Message 7 of 7 (98 Views)

Re: removing leaders from individual dragged point elevations

10-24-2012 12:08 PM in reply to: rkmcswain

Thanks.

I just moved over from 2010 recently and from my original post, the option to select the sub-item grips was the blue circle that came up upon left-clicking the point.  It took me a few minutes to realize that 2012 required the left-click, then hover over the blue square, etc.  When I made our template, I tried to COPY label styles as much as I could and just make the other components' visibility FALSE, so I never knew about the single-item issue.  Any single text item styles we use are not point-related, so an arrow is desireable whenever they move (other than line/curve labels which I sometimes show As Composed without the leader).

 

Here's one for you though:

 

I've noticed when moving large quantities of point elevations that if I don't unselect any points as I move along, I can often just click on another point and it's sub-item grips are already available.  But for some points I still have to hover over the blue and select toggle grips.  At first, I thought it was for points on the same  layer, but then I had several points on the same layer where this wouldnt' work.   Then I tried points of same/different point groups.  That wasn't it.  I haven't been able to find what property the points need to have in common so that the user doesn't need to do the hover-over-the-blue-square bit.

Civil 3D 2014
Windows 7 Professional SP1
Dell Precision T1700
(i7 @ 3.40 GHz)
8GB RAM
Nvidia Quadro K600

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the Autodesk Community?
We’re looking at a few different ways to improve the “All Forums” landing page and need your feedback! If interested, please take a few minutes to fill out the following Usability Study. Thank you for your time!

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs