AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
kentanner1346
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎02-01-2010
Message 1 of 6 (189 Views)
Accepted Solution

"hanging-up" when creating surface from polylines

189 Views, 5 Replies
05-19-2011 10:23 AM

I've created several surfaces by tracing contours on a xref, assigning elevations. Then through the surface definitions in the prospector add the contours I've traced.... This time it doesn't work... It just hangs up and gives me the busy symbol.. I've let it run for an hour over lunch and it still did not create the surface...I'm stumped

*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,812
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 2 of 6 (186 Views)

Re: "hanging-up" when creating surface from polylines

05-19-2011 10:43 AM in reply to: kentanner1346

I don't know if this is definitely the cause. But I'd suggest using the Map Drawing Cleanup tools to make sure you didn't accidentally create a coincident vertex in one of your polylines.

 

Allen

Active Contributor
kentanner1346
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎02-01-2010
Message 3 of 6 (181 Views)

Re: "hanging-up" when creating surface from polylines

05-19-2011 11:20 AM in reply to: AllenJessup

I am unfamiliar with Map Drawing Cleanup tools, I don't even know how to access them..

Active Contributor
kentanner1346
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎02-01-2010
Message 4 of 6 (177 Views)

Re: "hanging-up" when creating surface from polylines

05-19-2011 11:33 AM in reply to: kentanner1346

It seems if I explode the Polyline then do a 'pedit' command and 'join' the segments it works ... I have a lot of contours to do this to. So I'd still like a more timely method.

*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,812
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 5 of 6 (172 Views)

Re: "hanging-up" when creating surface from polylines

05-19-2011 12:03 PM in reply to: kentanner1346

Search Map 3D Documentation for "Drawing Cleanup" of "Cleanup Actions. Specifically you're looking to "Snap Clustered Nodes".

 

Allen

*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,812
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 6 of 6 (167 Views)

Re: "hanging-up" when creating surface from polylines

05-19-2011 12:06 PM in reply to: kentanner1346

That may indicate that Map Cleanup would help.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs