AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
Active Member
JAMIEMACINNIS2159
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎06-11-2009
Message 1 of 8 (675 Views)

profile without a surface?

675 Views, 7 Replies
03-04-2010 12:31 PM
Is it possible to create a profile view without a surface model?
I have a series of survey shots going straight up the center of the road that I would like to create a profile with.
can that be done?

Thanks
Jamie
Active Contributor
frye_guy
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 2 of 8 (671 Views)

Re: profile without a surface?

03-04-2010 12:36 PM in reply to: JAMIEMACINNIS2159
http://civil3dnovice.blogspot.com/2008/09/create-profile-without-surface.html

This worked for me.
*James Wedding, P.E.
Message 3 of 8 (673 Views)

Re: profile without a surface?

03-04-2010 12:37 PM in reply to: JAMIEMACINNIS2159
That will work in 2009, not in 2010, and again in 2011.

HTH
JW
Valued Mentor
awood
Posts: 304
Registered: ‎06-24-2005
Message 4 of 8 (672 Views)

Re: profile without a surface?

03-04-2010 01:06 PM in reply to: JAMIEMACINNIS2159
Hi Jamie,
I did this just recently with a different workaround on a project with only centerline of road shots.
You do create a surface model, create it from those centerline points.
Run an alignment through them (the Subscription Advantage pack tool => Create Best Fit Alignment works great for this).
Then you can get a profile.

HTH
AWood
Valued Contributor
gauss2069
Posts: 67
Registered: ‎05-25-2007
Message 5 of 8 (671 Views)

Re: profile without a surface?

03-04-2010 01:07 PM in reply to: JAMIEMACINNIS2159
..again in 2011? Oh! this is March.......
Civil 3D x64 2013
Win 7 x64
Intel Core i7-940XM
8 GB RAM
Quadro FX 5000M
*James Wedding, P.E.
Message 6 of 8 (671 Views)

Re: profile without a surface?

03-04-2010 01:18 PM in reply to: JAMIEMACINNIS2159
Yes, and since Matt Osborn was kind enough to mention it publicly the
other day, I don't feel too bad about repeating it.

On the other hand, anything else that might be in the upcoming release
I'd have to be mum on.

JW
*Matt Kolberg
Message 7 of 8 (672 Views)

Re: profile without a surface?

03-05-2010 08:40 AM in reply to: JAMIEMACINNIS2159
This is very easy.

1. make an alignment along those points.
2. make the profile view and specify manual elevations.
3. connect those points with a feature line, make sure it snaps to the Z of
those poiints.
4. "project that feature line into the profile view.

--
Matt Kolberg
Global CADD Systems - A division of Cansel

"JAMIEMACINNIS2159" wrote in message news:6348967@discussion.autodesk.com...
> Is it possible to create a profile view without a surface model?
> I have a series of survey shots going straight up the center of the road
> that I would like to create a profile with.
> can that be done?
>
> Thanks
> Jamie
*Expert Elite*
Civil3DReminders.com
Posts: 2,437
Registered: ‎10-13-2005
Message 8 of 8 (673 Views)

Re: profile without a surface?

03-05-2010 09:30 AM in reply to: JAMIEMACINNIS2159
If you want to do a little prework to automate the process: http://blog.civil3dreminders.com/2008/09/create-profile-without-surface-vba.html
Civil Reminders
http://blog.civil3dreminders.com/
http://www.CivilReminders.com/

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs