AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
New Member
dyaa
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-09-2012
Message 1 of 8 (284 Views)

pressured networks

284 Views, 7 Replies
03-09-2012 07:15 AM

can autocad civil 3d handle with pressured conveying water in terms of calculating the heads and discharges and viewing this information in the network profile .

 

 

Distinguished Mentor
thepworth
Posts: 525
Registered: ‎03-02-2011
Message 2 of 8 (271 Views)

Re: pressured networks

03-09-2012 10:33 AM in reply to: dyaa

no.  it is an unfortuante shortcomming of the software :smileysad:


C3D 2011
Intel Xeon E5630@2.53Ghz
NVIDA Quadro NVS420 Dual Monitor
12GB Ram / Win7 Professional 64bit SP1
*Expert Elite*
BrianHailey
Posts: 2,748
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 3 of 8 (240 Views)

Re: pressured networks

03-10-2012 06:25 PM in reply to: dyaa
Autodesk purchased Boss International and with that came WaterNet (or something like that). Part of that acquisition resulted in Autodesk Storm and Sanitary Analysis but nothing has been released for the water analysis as yet. I'm keeping my fingers crossed. Perhaps if we see pressure systems in a future release we'll see something for the analysis side shortly after.
Valued Contributor
TonyLeggieri3279
Posts: 87
Registered: ‎01-12-2010
Message 4 of 8 (201 Views)

Re: pressured networks

03-12-2012 10:19 AM in reply to: BrianHailey

A little birdie told me the other day that pressure systems is something we might-possibly-probably-we-can't-confirm-100%-because-of-silly-laws-thing that will (should) be in 2013.

qrcode
Distinguished Contributor
jmatthei
Posts: 151
Registered: ‎05-16-2008
Message 5 of 8 (176 Views)

Re: pressured networks

03-13-2012 05:36 AM in reply to: dyaa

I've got my hopes up before.  I'll believe it when I see it.

 

That being said, despite my skepticism, I will be grateful if it happens.

 

Jeremy

*Expert Elite*
BrianHailey
Posts: 2,748
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 6 of 8 (168 Views)

Re: pressured networks

03-13-2012 05:58 AM in reply to: jmatthei

jmatthei wrote:

I've got my hopes up before.  I'll believe it when I see it.

 

That being said, despite my skepticism, I will be grateful if it happens.

 

Jeremy


I feel the same way. I've been expecting pressure pipe systems for several years now. I've become content with what we have. That doesn't mean I've stopped asking for more or expecting more, it's just that I've stopped being upset when what I expect to be in the software isn't there.

*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 2,696
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 7 of 8 (161 Views)

Re: pressured networks

03-13-2012 06:12 AM in reply to: BrianHailey

Excellent post Brian. I feel the same way but with more things than just pressure networks (label and table improvements are top on my wishlist). Civil 3D is a tool and it does what it does. It will never be perfect. It will never do everything I want it to. I use it the best I can & don't get upset anymore when it doesn't do everything I think it should do. After all, what I  think it should do may not be what others think it should do and I can't see the programmers realistically making every single routine that every single user requests.

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
Distinguished Contributor
jmatthei
Posts: 151
Registered: ‎05-16-2008
Message 8 of 8 (157 Views)

Re: pressured networks

03-13-2012 06:26 AM in reply to: dyaa

I'm not content--just jaded.

 

I don't think it's unrealistic to expect a site tool that gives us what the architects and building engineers have in Revit.  If everyone accepted mediocrity we'd still be riding in horse-drawn carriages and lighting our homes with candles (not to mention hand-drafting construction plans).  The pieces are there on the various platforms, and just need to be put together into a workable package.  Although it can be broken into many small subcompoents, my request is actually quite simple:  Let me model the site fully in BIM, and access the tools available to the architects.  All the fancy auto-calculation methods, visualization techniques, and rule-based auto-design functions are irrelevant if I can't build a model of the site in BIM, on a level that the architects can do with the building.

 

So far I've seen little progress on this front, and I've been losing faith in Autodesk--figuring it would actually be a 3rd party developer that would eventually make the leap.  That being said, if Autodesk actually does move forward with this I will be pleasantly surprised, and my faith in them will be partially restored.

 

Jeremy

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs