AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
Contributor
hladuke
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎10-04-2010
Message 1 of 11 (365 Views)

point removal from dwg

365 Views, 10 Replies
10-14-2010 10:07 AM

I have been reading the posts and have come to the understanding that the points can not be removed from the dwg.  I was wondering about the liability issue.  Now that the points are part of the dwg when you send someone (architect, etc) a dwg they get all of the survey data with the dwg.  Is there anyway around this since the points are part of the dwg or is this just how civil 3d is. 

 

Does anyone have any suggestions about how we can send a dwg to a client w/o sending them the points database?

 

I've read about NO DISPLAY point style and point labels.  How do we do this again?  It was a while ago when I made all of our point styles.  Just a quick refresher would be awesome.

 

Thanks for your help in advance.

Distinguished Contributor
civman_daar
Posts: 201
Registered: ‎09-29-2008
Message 2 of 11 (357 Views)

Re: point removal from dwg

10-14-2010 11:06 AM in reply to: hladuke

Erase the points, point database is emptied.  Save the drawing, finished.

Product Support
SethHall
Posts: 723
Registered: ‎02-08-2010
Message 3 of 11 (352 Views)

Re: point removal from dwg

10-14-2010 11:14 AM in reply to: hladuke

Hi hladuke-

 

A "no display" style is essentially a style with the visability turned off:

 

1182i2303C9B5326471F5

 

Hope this helps!



Seth Hall
Product Support
GCSO - CSS - FTS
Autodesk, Inc.


Being Civil
Being Civil Twitter
Being Civil Facebook







Contributor
hladuke
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎10-04-2010
Message 4 of 11 (338 Views)

Re: point removal from dwg

10-14-2010 11:26 AM in reply to: SethHall

I figured that it would be that easy. 

 

Now if I send a dwg to another person who has civil 3d and if the points are "no display", since these other users do not have our point style will they be able to see or use our points?  Do our styles transfer with the dwg?

Employee
peterfunkautodesk
Posts: 707
Registered: ‎08-25-2009
Message 5 of 11 (335 Views)

Re: point removal from dwg

10-14-2010 11:32 AM in reply to: hladuke

If the other firm has Civil 3D they will be able to change the point to display.

 

If you use the survey database then the drawing will only contain a version of the points. All the data will be there, but you will have the orginal data.

 

What is your goal / concerns about sending the points? Is it that someone can move your points or that they can see your points?

 

Other solutions:

1. Ship them a PDF for DWF file they could use as an underlay.

2. Digitally sign your drawings so that you can tell if they have been modified.

 

Regards,

 

Peter Funk

Autodesk,Inc.

 

 



Peter Funk
Autodesk, Inc.

*Expert Elite*
wfberry
Posts: 1,756
Registered: ‎09-05-2006
Message 6 of 11 (331 Views)

Re: point removal from dwg

10-14-2010 11:35 AM in reply to: hladuke

This style "thing" has been beaten to a pulp in this NG.  If you are afraid your style is so good that someone else may use it then send a pdf.

 

Bill

 

OR knock the drawing down to an Acad 2000 version.

Contributor
hladuke
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎10-04-2010
Message 7 of 11 (324 Views)

Re: point removal from dwg

10-14-2010 12:09 PM in reply to: peterfunkautodesk

We are worried that our dwgs can be recreated, manipulated and used for somthing iti was not intended for.  It is a liability thing.

Employee
peterfunkautodesk
Posts: 707
Registered: ‎08-25-2009
Message 8 of 11 (314 Views)

Re: point removal from dwg

10-14-2010 12:16 PM in reply to: hladuke

You should get with your lawyers. Just about any form of delivery could be reproduced including if you sent paper.

 

Regards,

 

Peter Funk

Autodesk, Inc.



Peter Funk
Autodesk, Inc.

*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,688
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 9 of 11 (300 Views)

Re: point removal from dwg

10-14-2010 12:47 PM in reply to: hladuke

".... used for somthing iti was not intended for. ..."""

 

I'm intrigued as to what you envisage this might be.

 

Neil

 

Civil 3D 2011 SP1
Win 7 Pro x64
8Gb Ram
ATI Firepro 4800
Dell T5500

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
Contributor
aaronbarnhart2002
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎02-19-2009
Message 10 of 11 (284 Views)

Re: point removal from dwg

10-14-2010 01:24 PM in reply to: neilyj

Generally we will lock the surface and then erase the points from the drawing before sending it out.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs