AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Mentor
lambertb
Posts: 192
Registered: ‎08-17-2007
Message 1 of 15 (1,990 Views)

pipe networks in section views

1990 Views, 14 Replies
04-12-2011 05:23 AM

I would like to show a pipe network structure on my section view. The catch- the structure is 10' away from my sample line. Is there any way to project structures onto section views? Thanks. C3D 2011

C3D 2014 SP1, Windows 7 Enterprise 64-bit
Dell T3500 workstation, too much ram to post
Distinguished Contributor
ksorsby
Posts: 227
Registered: ‎07-07-2006
Message 2 of 15 (1,870 Views)

Re: pipe networks in section views

09-14-2011 05:03 AM in reply to: lambertb

Bump to this one.

Is there a way to project a pipe or structure onto section views (as opposed to pipes crossing the sample line)? If it can be done for profile views, surely it must be possible with section views?

 

Cheers,

 

Kevin

 

 

Mentor
lambertb
Posts: 192
Registered: ‎08-17-2007
Message 3 of 15 (1,811 Views)

Re: pipe networks in section views

12-29-2011 08:34 AM in reply to: lambertb

Is this possible in Civil 3D 2012?

 

C3D 2014 SP1, Windows 7 Enterprise 64-bit
Dell T3500 workstation, too much ram to post
Distinguished Contributor
ksorsby
Posts: 227
Registered: ‎07-07-2006
Message 4 of 15 (1,784 Views)

Re: pipe networks in section views

01-03-2012 02:51 AM in reply to: lambertb

Not as far as I am aware. It's a surprising and important omission in my view.

Contributor
lgmunoz
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎10-09-2007
Message 5 of 15 (1,781 Views)

Re: pipe networks in section views

01-03-2012 04:45 AM in reply to: lambertb

define a a sample line section where your pipe and sctructure is located

Distinguished Contributor
ksorsby
Posts: 227
Registered: ‎07-07-2006
Message 6 of 15 (1,777 Views)

Re: pipe networks in section views

01-03-2012 05:15 AM in reply to: lgmunoz

Yes, that looks good. What about where you have pipes running along the length of the road, ie. parallel to the alignment as opposed to perpendicular as you've shown?

 

Kevin

Contributor
lgmunoz
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎10-09-2007
Message 7 of 15 (1,773 Views)

Re: pipe networks in section views

01-03-2012 06:18 AM in reply to: lambertb

select your pipes and structure, right botton click and select draw in profile view go to your profile and click in any part of it

Mentor
lambertb
Posts: 192
Registered: ‎08-17-2007
Message 8 of 15 (1,770 Views)

Re: pipe networks in section views

01-03-2012 06:21 AM in reply to: lgmunoz

My problem exists due to having to make so many sample lines (one for each structure, plus the 25' normal sample lines). If a structure is a small distance away from a 25' station I would like to project it to that station. It seems like the structure station and sample line have to be the same.

C3D 2014 SP1, Windows 7 Enterprise 64-bit
Dell T3500 workstation, too much ram to post
Distinguished Contributor
ksorsby
Posts: 227
Registered: ‎07-07-2006
Message 9 of 15 (1,760 Views)

Re: pipe networks in section views

01-03-2012 06:33 AM in reply to: lgmunoz

I think we might all be talking about slightly different things - you can right click pipes and structures and project onto a PROFILE view  as you've shown but not a SECTION view. Capitals for emphasis, not shouting! ;o)

For Section Views you can add a pipe network to the list of sources under Sample Line Group Properties and any crossing pipes/structures will magically appear on all section views under that group.

I was wondering if it was possible to just project 1 pipe or structure onto a single section view - which it appears it isn't.

 

Cheers,

 

Kevin

Mentor
lambertb
Posts: 192
Registered: ‎08-17-2007
Message 10 of 15 (1,403 Views)

Re: pipe networks in section views

11-13-2012 12:35 PM in reply to: ksorsby

Does Civil 3D 2013 allow you to project pipe network structures onto section views? For example 25' sample line spacing, a manhole at +20, can you project it to the +25 station?

 

Thanks.

C3D 2014 SP1, Windows 7 Enterprise 64-bit
Dell T3500 workstation, too much ram to post
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.