AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
Active Contributor
R_Laufer
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎09-04-2008
Message 1 of 8 (235 Views)

inserting template?

235 Views, 7 Replies
03-22-2010 07:16 AM
I'm currently using C3D2009. We have a good template done for starting new dwgs. My question is if I have an older dwg (LDT 2002) and we have "moved it up" can I insert the template so I have all my styles? Or is it a case of starting the dwg over?
*Expert Elite*
Sinc
Posts: 6,207
Registered: ‎11-18-2006
Message 2 of 8 (235 Views)

Re: inserting template?

03-22-2010 07:17 AM in reply to: R_Laufer
It is generally better to create a new drawing in C3D 2009, then insert your old 2002 stuff.

-- Sinc
http://www.ejsurveying.com
http://www.quuxsoft.com
Sinc
Distinguished Contributor
omc-usnr
Posts: 621
Registered: ‎04-25-2007
Message 3 of 8 (235 Views)

Re: inserting template?

03-22-2010 07:26 AM in reply to: R_Laufer
Sinc,

Couldn't you import the old linework in and xml the LDT data in? Not perfect, but if the project is fairly well along, wouldn't it be better than trying to recreat it from scratch?

Reid
*John Mayo
Message 4 of 8 (235 Views)

Re: inserting template?

03-22-2010 07:33 AM in reply to: R_Laufer
As for best practices, Sinc is correct. It is always better to start with a
new dwg. Keeping with Best Practices, if you want to get LDD data you should
use the Import LandDesktop command instead of opening LDD & writing xml
files.

--
John Mayo, PE

Core i7 920 6GB DDR3
Radeon 4870HD 1 GB
Vista64
*Expert Elite*
Sinc
Posts: 6,207
Registered: ‎11-18-2006
Message 5 of 8 (235 Views)

Re: inserting template?

03-22-2010 07:50 AM in reply to: R_Laufer
Can you even XML data out of Land Desktop 2002?

-- Sinc
http://www.ejsurveying.com
http://www.quuxsoft.com
Sinc
Distinguished Contributor
omc-usnr
Posts: 621
Registered: ‎04-25-2007
Message 6 of 8 (235 Views)

Re: inserting template?

03-22-2010 08:14 AM in reply to: R_Laufer
Maybe not.

I went from R14 / SDSK 7 to R2000 LDD and then to LDC 2007, so I skipped 2002.

Reid
Active Contributor
R_Laufer
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎09-04-2008
Message 7 of 8 (235 Views)

Re: inserting template?

03-22-2010 08:15 AM in reply to: R_Laufer
Thanks everyone,
I've compromised and left my layout in LDT and created a new dwg for profiles and utilities. (created data shortcuts for my base mapping) I want "best practices" unfortunately my boss wants "fast and right now".
I can't wait till all the "old" projects are gone.
Distinguished Contributor
omc-usnr
Posts: 621
Registered: ‎04-25-2007
Message 8 of 8 (235 Views)

Re: inserting template?

03-23-2010 08:13 AM in reply to: R_Laufer
"The design's not done until the As-builts are filed."

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs