AutoCAD Civil 3D General

Reply
Member
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-25-2006
Message 1 of 18 (7,001 Views)

importing shapefiles

7001 Views, 17 Replies
06-06-2006 08:14 AM
I've been trying to figure out how to import a shapefile into a drawing.
*TomD
Message 2 of 18 (6,997 Views)

Re: importing shapefiles

06-06-2006 10:31 AM in reply to: jthornton
Is there a certain aspect of it that is giving you trouble?

Shape file import specifics rely fairly heavily on what is in the shape file
and what you want out of them.

wrote in message news:5197063@discussion.autodesk.com...
I've been trying to figure out how to import a shapefile into a drawing.
*Murph
Message 3 of 18 (6,997 Views)

Re: importing shapefiles

06-06-2006 11:08 AM in reply to: jthornton
Are you talking about an AutoDesk shape file or and "ESRI" format shape
file?
Don't get the two confused.

Murph
--
http://mappingitout.blogspot.com/
wrote in message news:5197063@discussion.autodesk.com...
I've been trying to figure out how to import a shapefile into a drawing.
*Dana Breig Probert
Message 4 of 18 (6,997 Views)

Re: importing shapefiles

06-06-2006 11:47 AM in reply to: jthornton
here is a paper about how to import map data (ESRI shape, etc)

dana

--
Dana Breig Probert
http://civil3drocks.blogspot.com/
CADapult Ltd
Empowering Design With Innovative Solutions
www.cadapult.net
----------------------------------------------
wrote in message news:5197063@discussion.autodesk.com...
I've been trying to figure out how to import a shapefile into a drawing.
Active Member
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎06-09-2006
Message 5 of 18 (6,997 Views)

Re: importing shapefiles

06-09-2006 11:43 AM in reply to: jthornton
ok, looking at your toolset on the top of the screen, select the map pull down.
scroll down to tools then arrow over to import.
and your done, information will import.
Employee
Posts: 1,261
Registered: ‎04-19-2006
Message 6 of 18 (6,997 Views)

Re: importing shapefiles

06-13-2006 07:33 PM in reply to: jthornton
did you get it to work?
Dana Probert, P.E.
Technical Marketing Manager, Civil Engineering
Autodesk
Blog: BIM on the Rocks
Learn More About BIM for Infrastructure
Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 879
Registered: ‎12-10-2003
Message 7 of 18 (6,997 Views)

Re: importing shapefiles

06-04-2007 02:15 AM in reply to: jthornton
I'm also having trouble with shape files (ESRI), If I use C3d 2007 they import without trouble, if I try with 2008 it crashes with a FATAL ERROR.
*Matt Kolberg
Message 8 of 18 (6,997 Views)

Re: importing shapefiles

06-04-2007 09:43 PM in reply to: jthornton
Are you using the new MAP tools FDO connection, or do you have some other
tool you are using?

Matt
Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 879
Registered: ‎12-10-2003
Message 9 of 18 (6,997 Views)

Re: importing shapefiles

06-05-2007 12:34 AM in reply to: jthornton
I've been using the drop down map menu and selecting import.
I've not heard of FDO what is it?
(Unfortunately, thanks to (probably) the paranoid levels of security built into our systems, Help is so slow to start and run that I try not to use it; it's quicker to guess.)

Joan
*Matt Kolberg
Message 10 of 18 (6,997 Views)

Re: importing shapefiles

06-05-2007 06:08 PM in reply to: jthornton
You should be able to make an exception for the civil.chm file or any other
help files you're using in your virus scanner. This should make the help
window appear much faster.

FDO (not sure of the acronym) allows you to connect with that SHP file
without actually importing the linework. this is Map's new way of managing
data.

You'll need the Map Task Pane open and click the Data button. Make a
connection to the SHP file and add it to your map.

Matt

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the Autodesk Community?
We’re looking at a few different ways to improve the “All Forums” landing page and need your feedback! If interested, please take a few minutes to fill out the following Usability Study. Thank you for your time!

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs