AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Member
Chiby
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-06-2013
Message 1 of 9 (320 Views)
Accepted Solution

how to measure the area of a region, defined on a TIN Surface

320 Views, 8 Replies
12-06-2013 03:46 AM

Hello to All,
I’d like to ask how I can measure the area of a region, defined on a TIN surface. ( i.e. the area of the bounded topographic terrain )

Thank you in advance!

Regards

Silvi

*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,702
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 2 of 9 (308 Views)

Re: how to measure the area of a region, defined on a TIN Surface

12-06-2013 04:53 AM in reply to: Chiby
Either look at the Surface statistics (for the whole surface) or make a copy of the TIN surface and draw a polyline around the area of interest and add to the surface copy as Non destructive boundary then look at the Surface statistics.

In both cases you can view the 2D and 3D areas
neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,815
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 3 of 9 (307 Views)

Re: how to measure the area of a region, defined on a TIN Surface

12-06-2013 04:58 AM in reply to: Chiby

Select the Surface, right click, select Surface Properties. On the Statistics tab expand Extended. You get 2D & 3D surface area.

 

sr1.PNG

 

Allen Jessup

Member
Chiby
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-06-2013
Message 4 of 9 (293 Views)

Re: how to measure the area of a region, defined on a TIN Surface

12-06-2013 06:58 AM in reply to: AllenJessup

Thank you for the answers,

but I would like to know whether the measured area is the area of the terrain, not the plane one bounded from the boundary in horizontal direction...

Thank you

*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,815
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 5 of 9 (290 Views)

Re: how to measure the area of a region, defined on a TIN Surface

12-06-2013 07:02 AM in reply to: Chiby

Chiby wrote:

measured area is the area of the terrain, not the plane one bounded from the boundary in horizontal direction...

 


How are you seeing that as being different from the 3D area?
 

Allen

*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,702
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 6 of 9 (287 Views)

Re: how to measure the area of a region, defined on a TIN Surface

12-06-2013 07:03 AM in reply to: AllenJessup
The OP might have been confused by your screenshot as the 2D and 3D areas are identical...:smileyhappy:
neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,815
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 7 of 9 (285 Views)

Re: how to measure the area of a region, defined on a TIN Surface

12-06-2013 07:07 AM in reply to: neilyj

Not quite identical. But very close.

 

I didn't have a surface in the drawing I had open. So I just drew 2 3D polylines and created a surface using them as breaklines. There wasn't much of an elevation difference.

 

Allen

*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,702
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 8 of 9 (278 Views)

Re: how to measure the area of a region, defined on a TIN Surface

12-06-2013 07:12 AM in reply to: AllenJessup

Thought that's what you did.....here's one I'm working on...

 

2013-12-06 15_11_56-Surface Properties - _No Name Provided_.jpg

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
Member
Chiby
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-06-2013
Message 9 of 9 (277 Views)

Re: how to measure the area of a region, defined on a TIN Surface

12-06-2013 07:14 AM in reply to: Chiby

Thank you again,

I just have done some examples and found out that this is exactly what I need... :smileyhappy:

Regards

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs