AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
mikesdak
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎07-01-2009
Message 1 of 9 (644 Views)

hec-ras export issues

644 Views, 8 Replies
09-12-2009 07:18 AM
Good Morning

I have been using the C3D 2009 and 2010 Hec-ras export extension with some success for the past few months. In my current project, I am using 2010, since that is the drawing format.

I have noted the following problems with the export function:

1. When sample lines are created from polylines, the Export function mis-orders the cut lines and surface lines, i.e. the cut lines in the GEO file are for the wrong cross section. This doesn't seem to be a problem if the sample lines were created by clicking stations along the alignment.


2. The export function doesn't support cross sections skewed to the alignment- I have had this problem in sample lines created from polylines, and also with "normal" sample lines on which I have grip edited the endpoints (to achieve the skew). ---The surface line just follows a path perpendicular to the Alignment.

Does anyone know how to remedy these problems?

Thanks in advance
*Matt.Anderson
Message 2 of 9 (644 Views)

Re: hec-ras export issues

09-12-2009 08:03 PM in reply to: mikesdak
2010 doesn't work as expected, and I don't think its on the list of
things to be fixed, esp, with the purchase of the BOSS RiverCAD. I
personally would use the EE HydroPack tools.

Matthew Anderson, PE CFM



mikesdak wrote:
> Good Morning
>
> I have been using the C3D 2009 and 2010 Hec-ras export extension with some success for the past few months. In my current project, I am using 2010, since that is the drawing format.
>
> I have noted the following problems with the export function:
>
> 1. When sample lines are created from polylines, the Export function mis-orders the cut lines and surface lines, i.e. the cut lines in the GEO file are for the wrong cross section. This doesn't seem to be a problem if the sample lines were created by clicking stations along the alignment.
>
>
> 2. The export function doesn't support cross sections skewed to the alignment- I have had this problem in sample lines created from polylines, and also with "normal" sample lines on which I have grip edited the endpoints (to achieve the skew). ---The surface line just follows a path perpendicular to the Alignment.
>
> Does anyone know how to remedy these problems?
>
> Thanks in advance
>
Active Member
mikesdak
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎07-01-2009
Message 3 of 9 (644 Views)

Re: hec-ras export issues

09-14-2009 10:05 AM in reply to: mikesdak
Matt,

Thanks for the reply. This brings up a few more questions:

1. Does the 2009 version work better than 2010 with HEC-RAS export?

2. I remember mention of "known issues" when I downloaded this extension, but the problems mentioned were minor. Is Autodesk aware of the problems I mentioned? If they won't fix them, at least they could let users know what the extension's limitations are.

Thanks in advance
Distinguished Contributor
alberto_go
Posts: 188
Registered: ‎10-11-2005
Message 4 of 9 (644 Views)

Re: hec-ras export issues

09-14-2009 10:16 AM in reply to: mikesdak
Mike,

Where do you find the Hec-Ras extension? is it free? where could I download it?

Thanks!

-Alberto
C3D 2009
*Jeff Mishler
Message 5 of 9 (644 Views)

Re: hec-ras export issues

09-14-2009 10:53 AM in reply to: mikesdak
Subscription Center.
Free to subscription customers

"alberto_go" wrote in message news:6254002@discussion.autodesk.com...
> Mike,
>
> Where do you find the Hec-Ras extension? is it free? where could I
> download it?
>
> Thanks!
>
> -Alberto
> C3D 2009
Active Member
mikesdak
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎07-01-2009
Message 6 of 9 (644 Views)

Re: hec-ras export issues

09-14-2009 10:54 AM in reply to: mikesdak
Alberto,

It is available for download from Autodesk, I believe from the subscription center or whatever that is called. It is free, but I think you need a subscription to download it.

It does work reasonably well for basic tasks, but be sure to double check your cut lines and surface lines in Hec-ras against the sample lines in Civil3D. As I noted above, I don't think it can handle skewed or dog-leg cross sections.
*Matt.Anderson
Message 7 of 9 (644 Views)

Re: hec-ras export issues

09-15-2009 06:30 AM in reply to: mikesdak
2009 worked better and the code was unprotected so we were able to tweak
a few things to come to a better solution easily.

I have made Autodesk aware of the issues with a couple of service
requests. I have at least two open SR for this extension and the defects.

For no

Matthew Anderson, PE CFM



mikesdak wrote:
> Matt,
>
> Thanks for the reply. This brings up a few more questions:
>
> 1. Does the 2009 version work better than 2010 with HEC-RAS export?
>
> 2. I remember mention of "known issues" when I downloaded this extension, but the problems mentioned were minor. Is Autodesk aware of the problems I mentioned? If they won't fix them, at least they could let users know what the extension's limitations are.
>
> Thanks in advance
>
Distinguished Mentor
JeffPaulsen
Posts: 774
Registered: ‎09-01-2004
Message 8 of 9 (644 Views)

Re: hec-ras export issues

09-15-2009 08:39 AM in reply to: mikesdak
I also reported this when it was first released for 2009 and again for 2010. We got tired of waiting on Autodesk and went out and bought River Tools from Steltman Software.
Jeff Paulsen
Civil 3D 2012 SP3 | Win 7 64-bit SP1
Xeon E5-1620 @ 3.60GHz, 16GB Ram | NVidia Quadro 600
Active Member
mikesdak
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎07-01-2009
Message 9 of 9 (121 Views)

Re: hec-ras export issues...Still present in C3D 2014....

01-16-2014 02:32 PM in reply to: mikesdak

Hello.

 

I am the original author of that post from 2009.  I recently started working with C3D 2014.  The HEC-RAS export function is improved, but the issue with skewed  cross sections still exists:  the surface line does not follow the cut line.  This is apparent when you review the GEO file.  Attached is a  completely arbitrary GEO file showing three cross sections, the middle of which is skewed with a dogleg section.  

 

My old post mentioned problems with exporting sample lines created from polylines.  This seems to be remedied now.  In addition, the polyline (cut line) can contain more than 3 vertices, so long as the sample line is perpendicular to the CL at the CL.

 

Can Autodesk fix this problem?  If not, at least warn users that cross sections (sample lines) must be perpendicular to the centerline (alignment) at the alignment.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Civil 3D Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for AutoCAD Civil 3D helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Civil 3D

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs